This Thing Called Life [ April 23, 2010, 5:05 pm ]

Ahh, internet, it's been too long. Though I peruse you briefly while working it isn't enough. You continue to be elusive because my lovely* HP continues to, um, not work and thus, our connection continues to be spotty. But I shall not bitch or throw a hissy fit or be a thousand shades of grumpy over this. No no.

I mean? I should be. Because it seems that more and more, people's lives are lived online whether it's via blog posts or Facebooking obsessively or Twittering with celebrities or just generally living in a bubble inside of their iPhones. Our world seems to be less outwardly focused and more intensely in-tune with a handheld touch-screen. So in a way I'm glad I don't have a personal computer. Because I want to live life, not be one of those people staying up at all hours of the night to play games online or Facebook-stalk. I want to engage with friends, even if the only way I can really do that is through marathon phone conversations. (And for the record? I've had five hour-long plus convos in the past two weeks. FIVE. I LOVE my friends!) I want to feel the fresh green grass between my toes and breathe in the crisp Minnesota spring air. And I have. But more than that I want to challenge myself to step outside of my comfort zones and really figure out new ways to live in this still-kind-of-new-place that is my for-now home. Although...I'm not really sure I know how to do that. Most nights consist of me plopping on my couch because I am SO FREAKIN' TIRED from work and the constant demands of living-in. (Though I really am happy I chose to go this route.) My weekend adventures find me wandering Target and Barnes & Noble while finding new excuses to put off grocery shopping because I hate doing it so damn much. My life is not exactly what I'd call edgy or exciting.

Though at the same time I recognize how blessed I am. I get to engage with students on a daily (sometimes hourly) basis and there are constantly lessons to be learned and things to reflect on. While I'm not exactly sold on Minnesota being amazing (it's SO NOT in the middle of its subzero winters), I can see it becoming a part of who I am because of everything I'm experiencing and growing from here. It might not be my dream locale. But it's a good place to be for me right now. And while I don't have a personal computer to connect me to some of the things I'd like to be able to connect to (dating sites, anyone?) the trade-off is well worth it because I am engaged in this little thing called life. And that fact is enough to make even the biggest diva (ie: me) happy.

*Note: this is sarcasm.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design