Time On My Side [ June 10, 2009, 11:05 pm ]

I'm used to having long to-do lists. I love it when my planner is full of meetings, classes and work things. I adore me-time, but I like it when my free time comes in smaller quantities than, um, entire days and weeks.

I'm going crazy here, people.

I graduated a month ago. Before that I was inundated with paper deadlines, group project meetings, one-on-ones with staff members, program planning, rounds, duty, reading assignments, and a million other things that crept onto my to-do list.

That list? Has whithered up and died since I donned my mortar board and announced to the world that I am Krissy P, MA.

This is not necessarily a bad thing. Really, I think I need a break, a vacation, a chance to breathe. My problem lies in the fact that I have no. Freakin'. Clue. What to do with my massive amounts of free time.

So what have I done?

*Created half a dozen different craft projects.
*Invented new and interesting foods since I no longer have a meal plan. Included in this fun little adventure is the cultivation of a love of macaroni and cheese with hot dogs as well as PB & J. Because I am a poor girl with an inner 7 year-old foodie.
* Formed a couple new interesting texting relationships with people.
* Whine incessantly about the fact that I'm broke and thus cannot have a fabulous life.
* Found out where all the fun bar and restaurant deals are in the area so I can still have a semi-decent social life. Note: Harpers half-off Wednesdays and B-Dubs free-wing Tuesdays are both God-sends.
*Become obsessed with So You Think You Can Dance, which has lead to many daydreams about running away and becoming a dancer.
* Read. A lot. So, SO much. I've plowed through at least ten books since graduating. And none of them are about student development theory. Woohoo! Reading for pleasure--something I can definitely get behind.
* Sleep. Lots. My friend thinks I'm beyond lazy, but I think I'm just exhausted from being in grad school/living in a freshmen dorm for two years/surviving a horrific break-up and thus finally have the chance to recuperate from these traumatic things.

It is a charmed life, that I realize. I have the luxury of time, which is something that I know won't always be there. So while it's not the most exciting life I'll take it. Because I know there are far worse things I could be doing besides busting through a book a day or watching copious amounts of reality tv. Things like community logs or papers about the latest development theory. Thank God that's over with...for now.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design