Stitch'd Up [ August 30, 2005, 5:36 pm ]

It's no secret that I bawl every time I watch Lilo and Stitch. I'll admit it: I'm a sucker for Disney movies. Especially ones with cute blue aliens that spout off space jargon and save frogs.

So you can imagine my glee and disgust when I found out about Lilo and Stitch 2: Stich has a Glitch. I was all gleeful because--hi, more Stitch cuteness. At the same time, I hate that Disney is a money whoring company that leaves nothing sacred. Can we say Peter Pan 2, the Aladdin sequels and (in my opinion--the worst attrocity of them all)Cinderella 2? As much as I adore Disney movies, I hate the fact that they make sub-par sequels to any movie that is a hit. And let's not forget that they go straight to DVD/video--because they all suck THAT much.

So while I was excited about more Stitch-y goodness, I was hesitant about the new movie. Stitch! The movie! wasn't exactly Oscar material in my book. So I didn't have high expectations for this movie.

It's a good sign when I pop in the movie and within two minutes I'm awww-ing and giggling. It's an even better sign when I have to grab onto the couch to keep from falling off because I'm laughing so hard.

People. Lilo and Stitch 2 is quality.

It's such quality, that I'd even venture to say that I'd buy it...if I had some sort of cashflow at the moment.

I was impressed with the animation. It was gorgeous; it matched Lilo and Stitch--it was theater quality; not made-for-tv quality. The watercolored backgrounds were back, the characters were multidimensionally drawn, the colors were vivid. It was gorgeous. That was a pleasant and happy surprise for me.

The script was good, as well. The humor was great. I'm not sure if the same people who wrote the first one wrote this one, but it has the same dialogue flow and conversational tone of the first. It balanced the heart-tugging moments with great bursts of humor. One minute I was laughing, the next I was on the verge of tears. (We'll just disregard the fact that I'm PMS-ing at the moment. We all know that I'm sensitive no matter what--especially when it comes to Disney movies.)

I only had a couple of complaints. The first was that the DVD started with a preview for another! new! Lilo and Stitch movie! Coming in 2006!! It looks bad. And the premise just pissed me off. And sent me on my rant about Disney being a cash whore. Plus it cheapens the ending of this movie, which would have been a lot more heart-tugging if I hadn't just seen a preview for this atrocity of a new sequel. Damn Disney money whores.

The other complaint was that Daveigh Chase (yes, the creepy girl from The Ring movies) wasn't the voice of Lilo. Instead the highly over-rated Dakota Fanning takes on the role. Everyone in the world may think that this little girl is talented, but I can't be impressed with her after her performance in War of the Worlds. (A note to Dakota: Anyone can scream their ass off for two hours, honey. You aren't that gifted.) Why Daveigh wasn't the voice is beyond me. She's the voice for the Lilo and Stich cartoon series on the Disney Channel. The new voice isn't bad. Sometimes she even sounded like Daveigh. I just don't like Dakota. Ugh.

Overall, I loved this movie, which shocked me. If I'm bored enough I may watch it again tonight. And I never watch the same movie twice in a day.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design