Validation on the Scene at S-Mart [ November 23, 2005, 11:10 pm ]

Today was an interesting and exciting day. And not just because RENT was FINALLY released into theaters (my review to come later), but because work was validating.

In so many ways...

_____

Episode #1:
Scene: while checking a guest out...
Me: Happy Thanksgiving!
Middle-aged Woman: And the same to you. *looks concerned* You're not cooking...are you?!?

...apparently my reputation preceeds me and it has gotten out to, oh, EVERYONE that I am an undomesticated goddess.

____

Episode #2:

Scene: Checking out a friend from my writing workshop class, I told her that I really have no idea what I'm doing in life and I'm about to enter the panic zone...
Wisened, fabulous friend: PLEASE! As I told another friend--I had no idea what I was doing for FOREVER after I got my Bachelor's Degree. It's life; it's going to be a bit rough. Just hang in there, things will get better. Trust me, I know.

...I wish I'd had a tape recorder so I could play this every time I have one of my freak-out moments. It'd be good for my friends to hear, too.

____

Episode #3:

Scene: in the break-room, I'd just gotten done squealing on the phone with a friend about going to see RENT. A co-worker commented on my giddiness, so I started to tell her about it.

Older co-worker: I've heard about that, but I have no idea what it's about. What IS it about?
Me: It's a musical about friends living in New York in the late 80s and they're dealing with AIDS and homosexuality and drugs and life and love. Some people might consider it to be, um, a bit, uh, edgy.
Older co-worker: You know what? It sounds like it's about life. Real life. I think it sounds wonderful.

...That woman is my new role model, idol and adopted grandmother. She's well over 70, too, by the way. Why can't more people be like her? And by "be like her" I mean open-minded and accepting. (Or at least shutting the fuck up if you don't think you'd like something that might be a little real.)

La vie est belle. And la vie boheme, as well.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design