Resolve [ January 01, 2008, 9:39 pm ]

New Years Day 2008. I was going to write a typical entry detailing my goals and resolutions and plans of action for this coming year. It would have been the normal things like "get healthy" and "sleep better" and blah blah. And then John's car got stuck.

Last night a good ten inches of snow blanketed the town. It was amazing to watch last night, curled up next to the man I love; it was a simple way to celebrate the new year. However, neither of us thought about what that would do to the parking lot around my hall. That is, until John went to leave today. The snow that looked so gorgeous floating through the air last night was heavy and sticky when it landed. And because a plow had driven through the lot, there was massive pileup behind our cars, making it nearly impossible to navigate his little Toyota out of its parking spot.

The little Toyota that could managed to get its hind wheels over the lumpy snowpile, however the front wheels merely spun into an almost-smoky frenzy attempting to do the same thing. No amount of inching forward and backward would urge the car the final feet over the snow piles. We dug at the snow, attempting to free the wheels. No go. I found some road salt and poured it around the wheels, praying that traction would help. Not so much. He steered and I tried pushing. Still nothing. I steered and he shoved. It was impossible to move the car out of the rut.

Half an hour into our little project, snow started to fall--big, heavy snowflakes that defied gravity. I laughed because really, what else could not be in our favor? We had tried everything. I was on my knees and ready to chip away at the solid snow when a stranger strolled by with a little dog. I didn't notice her until she stopped in front of us.

"Are you stuck?" We replied that we were. She asked if we'd tried shoveling. Yes, yes we had. We'd tried everything we could think of. She could see we were despairing.

She stepped off of the sidewalk and stood next to John at the car. She sized up the situation while telling us that she used to live in Minnesota and this was quite the norm up there. (Sidenote: I may be rethinking my idea of checking out the Twin Cities as an area to live because of her remarks.) She took John's makeshift shovel (aka a long metal stick--it was all he could find) and began chipping away at the snow mound. It began to crumble. She got on her knees and tossed the mounds remnants out from under the car. These chunks were the size of my thigh. She stood up; she looked pleased. "That should help! Now go! Try again!"

John looked at me. We were both amazed. It was quickly getting dark, it was chilly outside, and this wasn't an ideal situation for any person to be in. Yet, this woman had no quelms about getting her hands dirty to help out a couple of strangers. She saw the look we exchanged. "Or would you rather I tried? I could try getting the car out? If you don't mind?"

"No no--try it!" John was only too happy to have some help. The woman got into the car and started it up.

"Wouldn't it be funny if she got your car unstuck? After we've been trying for nearly half an hour?" As the words left my mouth the woman shifted into reverse, cranked the steering wheel and eased the car over the rut it was stuck in. She got out of the car and patted John on the shoulder as she asked if everything was now fine and was ok to drive before returning to her evening walk.

Though she told me her name and that she worked for the university, I couldn't find her contact information on the school's website. Although it's nearly irrelevent, I would like to send her flowers and a card to thank her for her kindness and for what she did for me. In less than five minutes this woman had changed my view on life and humanity. She showed me that it takes hard work to make something happen and that sometimes a new perspective is necessary. She showed kindness when things seemed bleak. Her appearance serves as a reminder to look on the bright side, to show compassion and to help others. And even though the situation wasn't ideal, she remained optimistic; she seemed to derive a great deal of pleasure from helping us and living in the moment.

Because of all of these things, I'm scrapping my so-called resolutions for 2008. While I still plan on hitting the gym and stressing less and all the good stuff, I have a new lease on the new year: to live every moment to the fullest and approach each situation with kindness and a good attitude. If I can be a quarter as amazing as this woman is, I think I'll be doing just fine.

Ciao, dahling!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design