Post-Birthday World [ August 02, 2008, 2:03 am ]

I looove my friends.

I love people who actually show that they love me.

Tonight? Good example. Like, everyone who was in town? They came out for my post-birthday celebration. And then the guys? They rode the mechanical bull with little to no begging from moi. All because I (and my other friends) asked them to.

And watching a smart-ass boy from Nebraska ride a bull in a country bar for the first time while ten of his closest classmates cheered him on? Best. Moment. EVER.

And then! Having a friend who an be emotionally distant say that he cares about me and wants what's best for me while we're dancing to "Purple Rain"? Um, tears, anyone? Um, yes.

And all of us looking like jackasses on the dancefloor because we were doing a completely different linedance than the one that others were doing? Priceless.

Much like tonight.

I may or may not be inebriated at the moment. But even so, I know the value of true friends and real love. Because I was surrounded by it tonight. And it's so real and so profound and so intense that it's all I can do to keep from crying. Because these people--most of whom I've known for less than a year--truly love me as I am--loud, dorky, crazy, silly, fun-loving, creative and maybe sometimes profound. And this moment serves as a reminder that this is exactly what I deserve in life. And I will remember this moment as I continue on my journey. Because even though I might not be strong at the moment, they will help me through. Sometimes it just takes moments with beers and mechanical bulls to remember that.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design