Yes We Can [ November 05, 2008, 12:41 am ]

"This is a great f#cking day!!"

"My president is black! Woot!"

"OBAMAAAAAA! YEEEEAAAAH!"

Walking across the courtyard of my complex after Obama was pronounced the winner of the presidential race was an electrifying moment for me. Students screamed (sometimes profanely) from their windows. Girls sporadically danced with glee. People shouted praises to God and each other and America thankfully and joyfully. Tonight, in this moment, I was a part of something so much bigger than a hall or a student body or even a race or gender. Tonight I was a part of history.

Lines at the polls were deep with students all day. Students stood in line for hours to let their voices be heard. I could see the excitement in their eyes and hear their enthusiasm as they talked about voting for the first time. They knew they were a part of something bigger than themselves. They knew this was history in the making.

The fact that for the first time in American history we have a black president is incredible. A staff member of mine had to wake up early and drive to Detroit to vote this morning. He said that he talked to a lot of people when he was waiting in line and that a lot of them were first-time voters--not just young people, but elderly people as well. He said that they marveled at the fact that an African American was on the ballot. "They thought they'd never live to see the day." He smiled as he recounted the story. He knew he was a part of something bigger; he felt it before he even cast his ballot.

Today is an incredible day for the country. To know that so many people rallied and wanted their voices to be heard is mind-blowing. People waited in line for hours to make sure their voices were heard. I got anxiety before I began voting because I thought I would somehow mess up the ballot and I feared my vote wouldn't count. (I think I did it correctly...) Hearing Barack make his acceptance speech sent shivers up and down my spine. Seeing my residents cheer, scream, cry and fall over in excitement gave me goosebumps. Today I am proud to be an American. Today I am excited to be a part of history.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design