Sweeter than Frosting [ September 24, 2006, 12:18 am ]

It is the eve of the NMU social event of the century. it's on the horizon. And when I say NMU social event of the century I mean the marriage of Jonathan and Shelly. Like a child waits for Christmas, I've been eagerly anticipating this weekend for many many months.

Jonathan is my oldest college friend. We met during the Be A Part From the Start rally during our very first weekend at NMU. We were both screaming for our hall when we looked at each other and realized that we were both loud. We bonded through our breath-taking vocal abilities. We were inseparable during our first semester, exploring the campus and town together and challenging each others' vocal abilities. We remained close throughout our college careers and beyond as we've charted courses into the real world.

He was my first college friend. He listened to my roommate rants and I listened to his class woes. We discovered new restaurants and cracked loud jokes in the middle of bad movies. He allowed me to be me and helped me to figure out who I was. When we talk we do nothing but laugh. He continues to remind me of who I am and who I can be. In short, he's an amazing friend.

It was inevitable that he'd find his soulmate, someone who is just as genuine and fun-loving and caring. He found all of that and so much more in Shelly. Though I'm not as close to her as I'd like, I know that she is perfect for him--she challenges him and dotes on him and is as crazy for him as he is for her.

Honestly? They're the kind of couple that one would puke at because they're so sugary sweet. But there is not wretching around them because there's too much fun being had.

And that is why their wedding will be the social event of my life. Their friends are all friends; we all know each other--we went to school together, lived together, bonded together and have traveled to this event together. I was reunited with four close friends earilier today. And tomorrow promises to see even more of my good friends from college.

A debate wages in my mind about what will be the more sweet: seeing this perfect couple pledge their love, biting into the obligatory (and oh-so-yummy) cake or seeing many of my old friends. At the moment I can't which will come out on top. But I have a feeling that there may be a tie. And I'm totally ok with that.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design