Nay to Negativity [ February 13, 2005, 11:54 pm ]

So I figured out what I'm giving up for Lent. Shut up, I know that I'm, like, a week late. And, yes I realize that I'm not catholic. But this is something kind of fun to try out for myself. Besides--I heard that technically you don't have to start your giving-up-ness until the Monday after Ash Wednesday.

Anyways....I decided to give up negativity for Lent. Hell, it's something I should give up for good. I could've given up alcohol or chocolate or swearing, but quite frankly, I probably would have died. So, yes--negativity is a good alternative. Because I don't like when people are mean to me, so I'm not going to be mean to people. I bitch far too much.

Too bad that ten minutes after I made that Lenty decision I realized that I'd lost the diamond pendant my mom gave me for Christmas. Bawl much? Oh yes. Bitch much? Even more. It's diamonds. It's one of the nicest things I own. It's materialistic. It's pathetic. I know. But it's sentimental. I'll remain optimistic that it's in my apartment somewhere. But it could be at the bar. Or the pancake house. Or in a parking lot. God.

I'll just keep my fingers crossed and try to not be negative.

I'm also exhausted. Joe is a force in and of himself. While I adore him and the times we share, I am one tired girl. It's been non-stop since Friday. Lots of laughs, lots of liquor (more on his part than mine), lots of good conversation. I finally flipped last night though when the screaming drunken gay men screamed their way through drunken munchies at the pancake house. I was like "gaaah." I got space today though, under the guise that I needed to study for film class. I've studied. Kind of. Reading counts as studying. Heck yes.

But yeah--the weekend's been fun. I haven't been home much this weekend and the apartment's a mess. But what can one do? It's been fabulous. All of it except for the scratchy throat I have now. Sad. NyQuil will be a beloved friend tonight.

And I will need it for tomorrow: Singles Awareness Day. Happy V-day all. Really. If you have a loved one, congrats. If you're single, don't feel bad--you're probably in the majority. It's utter b.s. that most people only feel validated if they have a boyfriend or girlfriend. Yes, it's nice to feel lit up by someone. But you can feel alive by doing something you love or by being with friends. Which is why me and two of my best friends are going to dress up, drink girly martinis and then belt out horribly cheesy songs at karaoke tomorrow night. Because we are fabulous and we love ourselves. And we're not about to let some made-up holiday get us down. Instead we'll celebrate our inner goddesses.

And I will not go on a tyrade about how Valentine's Day is a steaming pile of crap. And I won't say that boys suck. Because it's officially Lent. And my life is better than that.

Cheers, dahling. And ciao!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design