Soak up the Sun [ June 12, 2008, 12:49 am ]

Woooot! Who has two thumbs and leaves for North Carolina in the morning? This girl!

And while, yes, I did just get back from England not too long ago, I am in dire need of a vacation. Because--trust me on this--tromping around the UK was NOT a vacation. It was an amazing experience where I learned a lot and had some great moments and good growth, but it was not a vacation. If I had to hear "what did you take from that? What lessons did you learn?" one more time, I would have gone postal. If I had to do one more campus tour or journal one more presentation or think of implications for one more student affairs professional I would have up and left.

Ok, not really, but two weeks with more than two dozen people (many of whom I didn't know) and no private time and very little time to unwind is not exactly a vacation.

Going to North Carolina on the other hand? Pure, unadulterated vay. Cay. Shun. Yum. I think the biggest question I'll have to answer is "what do you feel like for dinner?" or "which way to Myrtle Beach?" I think my brain can handle that.

This is so necessary! The week in between classes ending and the UK trip was spent in preparation for my excursion abroad, where I ran around in a complete flurry completing hundreds of menial, seemingly meaningless tasks. Then I was on the trip where I had to make nice with a bunch of girls (did I mention there were 27 girls and 1 guy on this trip? Because there was. That's a whoooole lot of estrogen.) and think of implications for my independent study. (Note: I am SO behind schedule with that. Blargh.) And once I returned I jumped right into my internship (which is great thus far, just a lot of hours), started doing committee work for my assistantship's department and wrote papers and argued with dumb classmates in an online class.

Whoever said that summer is a time to relax and recuperate needs to be shot. Or spend a week in my cute flip-floppy shoes.

But that is why I have amazing friends in North Carolina. For times when I have a free airplane ticket and some flexible hours. For times when I need a change of location and some good laughs and time spent reminiscing. For times when I need an adventure and not just a full schedule.

So thank you in advance to Christy, Nate and Laurie. I consider you to be my vacation saviors. And here's to a vacation filled with possibilities, potential adventures and/or mishaps and probable laughs. The endless possibilities are delicious...

Ciao, dahling!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design