Nature Girl [ July 25, 2006, 10:57 pm ]

Joe: Are you bringing makeup?
Me: Um, yeah. I'm a girl! I do need it to function! Why?
Joe: Because we're going camping.

So. My birthday weekend--usually a time when I celebrate turning a year older by drinking, debaucherizing, falling over and generally acting like my dorky self times ten--will be different. I may still WILL be still be drinking. However. It will be done in the woods. While I'm camping.

It may be a good time to note that I have never been camping before. Ever. Yes, I am from the Upper Peninsula, land of forests and pretty much nothing else. But do you know me at all? I am not a nature girl. I'm more of an air conditioning and electricity-loving girl. Nature does not have those things, thus my apprehension with all things outdoorsy. Yet somehow my gay fiance' has managed to convince me to go camping in the U.P. with him this weekend.

Ok, so it really didn't take a whole lot to convince me. There are three main reasons why I'm going...

a.) I was promised beer and lots of it. All weekend. I will still have my perpetually drunken birthday weekend. Beer will probably be the reason I survive the woods--I'll be too buzzed to realize that there are bugs and no civilation.
b.) Mackinac Island. I have never been there. Joe said if I went camping with him we'd go there as to take my mind off of the fact that we're in the middle of the woods for an entire weekend. Woo!
c.) I miss the water. I was always near a Great Lake until a few months ago. Now that I'm not I miss it greatly.

Great Lakes! Beer! Mackinac Island! My 24th birthday! Camping virgin! This weekend is going to be, um, interesting to say the very least.

Pray for me.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design