The One Where I Babble About Moving in List Format [ May 12, 2006, 12:04 pm ]

Lessons learned while moving:

* couches are a BITCH to move. Mine, for example, got stuck in my doorway numerous times, wedged while trying to manuever it around a corner and then got stuck again a few times while going up the stairs to the new apartment. Also? It takes up a lot of room in a U-haul.

* U-haul people are dumb. The people we dealt with were no help at all. When I asked how long we had the rental for, the guy was like "um, errr, two or three days?" Then the guy hooking up the trailer to Becks' van was trash-talking them. "You know? U-hauls suck. I'd NEVER move in one of these pieces of shit." Well, thanks for that professional piece of advice, buddy.

* U-hauls are also slow moving. This is not good when you have to follow one and you're tired as all shit. It's NOT FUN to stare at the back of the "new, improved, more roomy!" back of a trailer for four hours at a time. Not even Rockstar energy drinks and 80s music could save me from my wanted slumber.

* No matter how much you thinked you've packed there will still be lots and lots and LOTS of shit to pack in the eleventh hour. Which leads me to my next point...

* I have lots of shit. I am officially becoming a minimalist. Except for with my CD collection. And purse collection. And collection of DVDs. And scrapbooking stuff. And earrings. And make-up.

* If you arrive in your new place and are all excited and want to make new friends, the way to do it is not to run into your hallway and shout "hi, I'm new! Be my friend!" Because really? That's weird. And probably not the smartest thing I've ever done.

* Becky and I have enough boxes (read: shit) to build a fort big enough to take down the flanks of the confederate army. Tally-ho!

* Even nearly a week after moving, I'm still not unpacked. And I like it that way, thankyouverymuch.

* Not having cable is sheer, pure, unadulterated torture when you're used to having sixty-plus channels at your disposal. No cable? No VH1? No syndicated shows? No Comedy Central or Disney Channel? FOR ALMOST A WEEK? I JUST MAY DIE.

* When the cable guy comes to hook up cable, it's like seeing the face of God, complete with a chorus of angels. Or, um, at least like finding nirvana for a few short seconds. Because we have Vh1 again! And Comedy Central! And Disney! And Music Choice Music Channels with 80s and 90s music channels! WHEE!!! Nirvana, I have found thee!!

* Not having the internet sucks when you're used to having it available every moment of the day. No blogging? No compulsive email checking? No celebrity gossip?!? BOO! It almost makes me feel bad for stealing this wireless. Almost. But I may get over it.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design