One Way to Come Together [ October 21, 2005, 11:54 pm ]

I was going to write this whole entry about confessions and Krissy-isms and all kinds of silly stuff. And then I got sucked into the Madonna documentary on MTV.

First off, thanks to MTV for airing this commercial free. Yay for that. And for them airing it, for it makes me a very, very happy girl.

But? I'm completely KICKING myself for NOT recording it. I have no excuse. I just didn't think it'd merit recording. Uh, hello? It's MADONNA. Commercial. Free. And about her Re-Invention Tour. (Which, if you didn't know or forgot--I saw.) I'm a complete idiot. Ugh to me.

Ten minutes into it, my love for her Madge-esty was rekindled. I remembered why I love love LOVE Madonna so. Not only is she a magnificent performer and talented artist, but she's just an amazing person. Somehow she manages to stand her ground, express herself, inspire people and make the world love her while remaining semi-grounded and spiritual.

There. That's it. That is my new goal for life.

At one point, she was praying. She said that she hoped that they "inspired the audience to be better versions of who they are today." Holy. Fucking. Hell. That is what I want! That's what my entire philosophy on life is. I've written mission statements (thanks, Res-Life!) that have stated that same goal, both for me and the people that I meet.

I think Madonna and I are soul-mates.

I didn't think that watching this would have me thinking about life goals. I really just wanted a glimpse into Madonna's life. This is a nice by-product, though.

The director spliced backstage footage with numbers from the tour. I had forgotten just how amazing the concert was. The documentary started off with the introduction from the show where she reads from the book of Revelations. While that wasn't my favorite part of the experience by any means, just reliving it sent chills shooting up and down my spine.

Re-watching different parts of the concert had me in tears. I was in a daze during the actual show and it didn't hit me until a couple of days after it that I had actually seen one of my idols in concert. Seeing this re-reminded me of the entire experience: the rush of being in the same area as her, the sheer ecstasy of hearing my favorite songs being performed, the happiness of fulfilling a life goal. I have goosebumps just thinking about it. It was such an amazing moment; I'm so grateful that I got to experience it.

Who knew that spending a couple of hours with MTV could be such a ball of emotion and thought for moi?

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design