A KiKi in London--Part 5 [ March 22, 2005, 11:04 pm ]

Sleep is calling my name. Luckily, Wednesday wasn't a big day in London.

Again, we slept in hella late because a.) we're college students and b.) we're lazy. We make no apologies. Our shooting time for each day was 1ish in the afternoon, so as long as we were out the door around then, we were golden.

We went to see Buckingham Palace on Wednesday. Personally, I was more impressed with the gorgeous fountain and the beautiful gates than with the Palace itself. Ooh--it's big! And stoney! And there's the cool guards with the fuzzy hats. But...that was it. I enjoyed the fuzzy-hatted guards. Too bad they were inside the gates away from tourists, so no photo opp. there. Boo.

The gates were so gorgeous. Big and metaly and shiney. If I had a choice between a cute little house or these gates? I'd choose the gates hands-down for they are shiney and would keep my attention forever and ever amen.

The fountain by the Palace was gorgeous. It had a golden cherub on the top and stone statues carved into it. Beautiful. Of all forms of art, I adore sculptures the best because of how the work and detail that go into them--they can't just be duplicated. They're unique; they're original.

Anyway...so I fell in love with the fountain. And I threw in a couple of coins for wishes. One was for all of my loved ones, one was strictly a me-wish. (If you know me at all, you know what I wish for every time I throw change into a fountain or find that first star.)

After gazing at the Palace, we headed to the British Museum. Bonus--it's free. Unbonus--to navigate you need a map and that costs money. Because Ry and I were cheapskates, we just wandered around the mummy rooms and saw Cleopatra's mummy among others. And! I saw the Rosetta Stone! Tre' cool.

After only an hour wandering the massive museum, though, we got ADD, so we left. Culture is so lost on us sometimes. But! There was a hot dog vendor outside of the Museum. Best. Hot Dog. EVER. Sooo good.

We made up for our lace of culture that night with a performance from the London Symphany. We got to the concert a bit late because the trainline we took crawled. I swear we could have made better time walking. But once we were in the auditorium, it was well worth it. We were third row and could see all the musicians' expressions. And we could hear the director grunting when he really "felt" the music, so that was highly entertaining.

I honestly didn't think I'd enjoy the symphany. I was pleasantly surprised. Ryan really wanted to go, so I figured I'd be open-minded. I'm glad I did. I think my background in music helped me to appreciate and really feel some of the expressive nature of the pieces. Every piece was beautiful. The concert made me experience a wide range of emotions. It was amazing. It kind of made me regret the fact that I gave up music after high school. I remember how intensely I felt the music I played and part of me longed for that as I watched the symphany onstage. But it was amazing watching and feeling it, though. I left the concert hall feeling invigorated and uplifted, which I would need for our next adventure...

...Paris....

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design