A KiKi in London--Part 7 [ March 24, 2005, 11:33 pm ]

I'll be so glad to be done sharing this series of events. Because then maybe I can have a normal entry, which I haven't had in, oh, three weeks. I hate being busy. Le sigh.

So Friday was our last full day in London. I was feelin' a little depressed because I really REALLY didn't want to leave the city. Ryan and I crashed tre' early on Thursday night. We got home at 11ish and were sleeping before midnight. We decided to wake up at a semi-decent time on Friday because we wanted to go to TKTS and see if we could get tix for Chicago. I told Ryan that would be my bday/holiday gift for him.

We meant to be there before it opened at 10, but we're lazy, so we got there before 11. Luckily we got tickets. Score! We were so excited. We then wandered around Picadilly Circus and soaked in the atmosphere--it's such an enigmatic part of town. There was such a variety of people and things to see.

We had lunch and then I decided to go on a quest for Doc Martins. I was bound and determined to not leave London without buying a pair, so I dragged Ry all over mid-town looking for the store that sold them. We ended up in this little market area where there were lots of cool trinkets to buy but no Docs. We saw FCUK and the Body Shop and a bunch of other funky boutiques, but no Docs. After wandering for over half an hour we finally found a shoe store that sold them and I got my Docs.

They're brown. They're boots. They're beautiful. Too bad they've blistered my feet. If anyone knows how to properly break in these shoes, let me know, because my feet hurt.

Ryan and I had a big list of things we wanted to do on Friday: Madame Toussaud's, the Tower of London, The London Eye....we didn't get to any of it. We were lacking on funds a bit, and we were crunched for time. In our defense, we did try to purchase tickets to get on the London Eye, but the line was really reallyyyy long. We decided our time would be better spent admiring the sights on foot and then on, um, napping.

We did see a grand view of the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben from the other side of the river. Gorgeous, as always. It cemented the fact that I was head-over-heels in love with London.

When we were riding the tube back to our hotel, I got the idea in my head that I should find fishnets to wear to Chicago. I thought it was brilliant, so I embarked on a mission to find cute, sexy fishnets while Ry went back to the hotel to nap. I ended up finding a pair of soft pink ones at Marks and Spencer and even found some cute girly perfume in the process. I was quite psyched. And determined to look like an irresistable goddess on my last night in London.

We went to the early evening showing of Chicago. I thought we were going to be late, but luckily we found the theater and our seats minutes before the curtain went up.

The play was amazing. Absolutely phenomenal. I've wanted to see a staged version of it since I got my hands on the Broadway revival soundtrack in tenth grade. The cast was effervescent, the band was highly energetic--the combination was an infectiously enjoyable and fun show. I was blown away by the eagerness of the entire cast. It was amazing. My jaw was literally dropped for the first thirty minutes of the show. It was THAT good. I left the theater feeling invigorated and ready for an awesome night out. (Plus the male dancers? SO gorgeous. Hello, six packs and muscley men. You are all beautiful.)

After the show, Ryan and I were determined to get tipsy before going to the club. We had plans to return to the Zoo Club but not until 11. We had a good three hours to pregame. Ryan had a liter of Vodka; I had a flask of rum--that was gone rather quickly. And Ryan is such a light-weight that only the top of his liter had disappeared by the last night. I had to help him out--it's what friends do. We also discovered a new drink, if only because it was the only thing we had in the hotel room. Vodka and Coke isn't bad. Believe me. It's actually quite good. Trust me. It got Ry and I buzzed decently well decently fast.

Riding the subway drunk was an experience. I morphed into quasi-whiny Krissy and Ryan was more brilliant than usual. We must have been quite the entertaining pair on the tube. I don't remember what the conversation was, but I remember that I looked good. I had on the fishnets, a flowery, flowy skirt and my lowcut pink tanktop. I felt irresistable.

We got into the club fairly fast, which I was surprised about since it was so freakin' crowded in there. Ryan made a beeline for the bar, I began dancing. I was supposed to be looking for someone, but I figured out rather quickly it'd be nearly impossible to do because of the hundreds of people in the place.

The night went well. I danced a lot, met some cool people and had a good time. I was a BAD friend because I abandoned Ryan more than once to dance with one guy or another, but he reassured me that he didn't mind. I certainly didn't mind--I felt like Cinderella at my own private ball. It was a great high, an irresistable feeling. I'm so glad that my last night out ended with such a bang. How I love the boys in London. (And the glowy feeling I had that lasted me through the flight and the ride home.)

God, I adore London.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design