Jezebel Strikes Again [ September 13, 2005, 12:43 am ]

Since I'm currently without job (I realize I'm missing a word--I did that on purpose, yo), I have the advantage of basically doing what I want when I want. So when Em called me and asked if I wanted to trek up to Houghton to see Miss Saigon I screamed "heck yes!!"

If there's any chance that I can see a musical (or anything with any sort of cultural value) I'll jump at it. That's the reason that I'll go to NMU productions--even if they're bad. Hell, it's the reason I've watched Grease 2 an unnatural number of times. (Seriously. I was serenading Emily with one of the cheese-tastic songs and we were both frightened at how much of the song I actually could recite.)

It was well worth the $30 ticket and the last-minute ironing I had to do to look presentable for such a cultural affair. The cast was phenomenal. The role of the Engineer is one of the most effervescent and interesting roles that I've seen in any musical. He reminded me of the Emcee from Cabaret, except the Engineer's more money-driven than sex-driven. The plot was slightly cliche, but heart-breaking nonetheless. I didn't actually cry until the very last seconds as the curtain was going down when the child was slowly walking towards Ellen. (If you have no idea what I'm talking about I'm sorry. I'm trying to review without giving too much away.) The cast was immensely talented. The leads could belt out notes that echoed throughout the Center; it sent chills down my spine. It's the sign of a good musical--or at least a good moment--in my book.

Yet, the best moment in the play came during the second act. They mentioned the city of Dien Bien Phu in a song. This immediately sent Em and I into fits of giggles. The city holds a special place in both of our hearts thanks to Mr. Holmstrom's tenth grade world history class. Because of the sentimentality of it all, we couldn't stop laughing. Really, we shouldn't be seen in public together. Or maybe we shouldn't down Mountain Dew during intermission...

The rest of the weekend was pretty low-key. Sunday morning, as miraculous as it seems, I went to church. Again. My last episode at church left a bit to be desired since the whole message seemed lost on me. I had high hopes for churchiness yesterday. But me being the Jezebel that I am...I'm sorry to report that I did not have a religious epiphany. On the contrary, I spent prayer time thinking about some not-so-religious-and-actually-quite-naughty things.

If my one-way ticket to hell wasn't validated and punched before this weekend, it certainly is now.

The rest of my day was spent lazing around complaining about the heat. And staring into space while pretending to write. Although I did get a couple of new ideas for some essays. La vie--tre exciting, no?

Seriously, though. This weather can suck my non-existant balls. It's almost fall and I saw one thermometer today that read 96 degrees. NINETY-SIX DEGREES! ACK! I melt in this kind of weather. Where's the cool breezes? The dreamy rain? The weather where I can dress in layers and look cute and there's no humidity so my hair doesn't look like a limp dick? Humph. Apparently God didn't get the memo about the weather here. Or he doesn't care since I wasted prayer time thinking about very selfish things.

I'm ok with it, though. Because it was a fantastic, wonderful weekend. It was what I needed. And I couldn't be happier.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design