I *heart* Intelligence [ February 18, 2005, 3:24 pm ]

I think almost every girl can relate to this....

I was at work the other night. On the midnight shifts two of us work so that when we do rounds there's someone there to cover the desk. So I was working with this girl, I'll call her C. C's cool--she's sweet and funny and we get along great.

We're sitting there the entire night, bored out of our minds because our shift is always d-e-d dead. (Haha! I made a funny and spelled it wrong on purpose. I am so clever. And intelligent.) At 2:15ish this short (I'm talking almost Oompa-Loompa short--he came up to my boobs--at the MOST) guy sauntered up to the desk and started talking to us.

I was reading an essay for my Caribbean Lit class, so the book was in front of me as we conversed. We chatted about the class. And then he noticed C. C's cute--athletic and healthy and glow-y--the kind of girl that girls hate because she doesn't need to wear makeup to look cute because she just...does.

Short-man notices C and immediately starts drooling. He almost can't form a coherent sentence. It was amusing. So their conversation goes something like this.

Short-man: hiiiiii
C: uh. Hi?
Short-man: Hi. Wow. Damn! You. Are. GORGEOUS.
C: Uh. Thanks...I guess.
Short-man: No. Really. Really you are beeeeeautiful.
C:...

This went on for a good five minutes. He sat there and stroked her ego and continued to tell her how beautiful she was while she just gaped at him and I sat there attempting not to fall off of my chair from laughing so hard.

Then Short-man remembers that I'm there and that--oh! maybe he should say something nice to me. So he turns to me and says....

"You, girl! You're intelligent."

Uh, thanks.

Now, I would rather be called intelligent than beautiful any day because beauty fades. It always does. No matter how many injections or surgeries you get, beauty always fades. Intelligence is immortal. When my friends say I'm smart I always glow a little (mainly because usually I'm saying or doing something so stupid 99% of the time that I'm surprised that anyone knows that I have a brain). But for a short man that doesn't know me to just say that was a little insulting. (And we'll just ignore the fact that when I told a few of my friends this anecdote their jaws dropped and they collectively went "oooooh.")

I don't want a pity compliment. If you're talking to me, be genuine. Don't grab at straws for something to say. The old saying goes "if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all." Apply that to your life, little man, because calling a girl intelligent in the context you did isn't going to earn you any points.

And yes, thank you, I am intelligent. I'm brilliant. And I'm fabulous. And because of these things I am beautiful, even if some playboy wannabe cannot see that.

I dedicate this entry to all of my friends. For they are beautiful and intelligent. I also dedicate this to all the smart girls, because we are too intelligent to fall for any line or to get too upset when a guy can't see where real beauty lies.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design