Too giddy/tired for a clever title [ September 16, 2005, 1:26 pm ]

I've been excited about last night for the past four months. Ever since NAE voted to bring Hal Sparks to campus, I've been a giddy little girl. And not just because I have a dumb little crush on him. Well...ok, it's because I have a dumb little crush on him. But still. He's cute! He's knowledgable about the 80s! And he played a gay man on an excellent show. It's like we're destined to be friends or something.

The original plan was for a huge group of us to go to the show. Somehow that fell apart--I kind of blame Ryan for running off and joining NAE. (Just kidding, hon--I'm glad you're involved!) So it ended up just being Christy and I. We were going to wait in line before the doors opened so we could get good seats, but Hudson's beckoned, so we ate instead. And, uh, drank 27 ounce margaritas, too. By the time we got to the UC it was packed.

Just as we were about to despair, I remembered that I used to chair this organization, dammit. I should have some pull. We ended up nabbing second row, center seats, after all was said and done. (I should mention that I got killler seats because NAE people rock--they gave up their great seats because the show sold out. I heart NAE peeps. And, damn, do I miss some of them.)

I'll repeat: second row. Dead center. I could see him sweat. I could see his face contort. And! During the set he looked at me at least two or three times. Unfortunately, he looked at me as I was gasping for air from laughing so hard. That must've looked hot. It's ok, though, because he was fuckin' hilarious. I'm always impressed when comedians don't resort to the obvious sex jokes to make an audience laugh. While I like dirty jokes as much as the next person, I like original material more. And he was original.

And now? Some pictures.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

A good friend is one who'll stand in line with you for 45 minutes just to take a picture of you and Hal. Christy is the best. PS: we didn't plan on matching. I promise.


Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Hal was so sweet. The line moved disgustingly slow because he took the time to write novellas on people's posters and have ten-minute conversations with fans. This interaction literally took five seconds. I introduced myself, tried to contain the drooling, prayed I didn't look like a doof and then tried not to faint when he hugged me. The look on my face is a mix of euphoria, tired-ness and excitment because--yay! I had a date immediately following this picture!

It was a good, great, fabulous evening.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design