Fried to Fabulous in Four Short Hours [ December 10, 2005, 12:49 am ]

When I woke up this morning I should have pulled the covers over my head and went back to sleep for a few more hours. Instead I bounced out of bed thinking it would be a good day.

Then I burned the eggs that I cooked. My hair quickly followed suit, courtesy of my curling iron. And by the time I was done trying to fix the frizzed-out fro, I had two minutes to slap on foundation and gloss and head out the door so I wouldn't be late. To no avail, I was late punching in anyway.

In addition, a phone conversation left me feeling down; the disappointment that I'd set myself up for sunk in. It never fails to happen when I get super excited about something, even though I know that I'm bound to be sharply deflated. I'm still debating with myself as to whether my boundless excitement is an asset or an affliction. Today, it was an affliction. One that had my most self-absorbed coworker asking me what was wrong.

The self-induced funk didn't last too long, luckily. My fried hair got compliments from a couple of my friends. And they seemed sincere, which brought a smile to my face. Then a little girl rolled through my line and babbled about her yummy sucker then admitted that she'd been a little naughty this year so she didn't think she'd get "not one present from Santa." I giggled as I waved good-bye to her. The giggle was followed by a screech not half an hour later because I saw a long-lost friend who greeted me by saying "what is your phone number?!? I haven't had a Krissy fix in forever!"

Those moments left me with a glow that reminded me that the little things really can count. I left my introspective broody self by the wayside and grinned. At everyone that passed me by. Including a guy who stopped his trek to the electronics department to declare me "beautiful." Then later he came through my line and fawned over me for a few minutes while declaring me beautiful a few more times.

It's nice when random moments re-remind me that I am a goddess. And evict my downer feelings at the same time.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design