Melting Moment [ June 28, 2008, 12:28 am ]

"What are you getting?"

The question came from an older gentleman, directed at me, as I stood, transfixed in front of the gelato cooler at an ice cream parlor. Gelato! I was about to get gelato! Mango! Gelato! Wheee! In my stupor I blurted out something along these lines.

"Gelatoooo! It's SO GOOD! Did you get some? Oh you didn't? Oh you should have! Gelato is happyyy--"

As I babbled on about my euphoria with this frozen miracle, the man pointed to the cashier and peeled out a five dollar bill, even though I had clearly just seen him pay for his own frozen treat.

What is going ON? Is he getting gelato now? Did my recommendation work? Really? I'm THAT GOOD of a saleswoman? Maybe I should have stuck that out for a little while--oh wait, he is clearly NOT taking my suggestion. Then why would he have pulled out cash? Oh. OH. Is he paying for me? The cashier is grinning at me. And so is the guy. Ahh! Free gelato! Ahhh! That is so nice--I should thank him! Ahh! Free! Gelato!

This is why life is great. Not because I got free gelato--although that is nice. It's great because there are kind people who do nice things like pay for a girl's gelato on a hot summer night. It's a good reminder that life is beautiful and that people are innately kind.

Thank you, random ice cream shop guy. The gelato was delicious, but the moment was even more memorable.

Ciao, dahling!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design