You're Fired [ April 14, 2005, 7:43 pm ]

It's been quite the interesting couple of days. I'll leave last night's antics for another entry...perhaps later tonight if I don't feel like doing my Lit homework. But for now, I'll focus on today.

Ooh, today.

First of all, I either have allergies or a cold because I have a phlegm problem. It's gross. Severely gross. I feel bad for Becks, for she unwillingly gets to hear my horking every morning. So it's been fun getting up in the morning. But that's not even the point. I got up, pretty unwillingly, and got ready for my day, which basically included me working the front desk aaaand...that's about it.

So I get to the front desk and it's a different worker working. And I'm instructed to go talk to my boss.

Ummm...DING DING! You know that can't be good.

So I go into his office and I get "let go."

It's kind of funny. Why do they say "let go" when firing you? Whatever happened to just saying "you're fired?" Did Donald Trump trademark it or something? Or are we all just pussies who can't handle being told that we're fired?

I was told gently, like I'd burst into tears. My ego was stroked and best wishes were given. The entire time I was thinking WOO! Thursdays all to myself! Now I can do Senior Crawl without worrying about who's going to cover my entire shift!

I was amused that my boss thought I'd be bent up about it. Um...why would I be? I've begun work at my new career-building job and I'm, like, three weeks away from graduation. This isn't exactly a crisis in my book.

And then....

When I got back the phone was ringing off the hook for some random reason. I think it's because stupid lazy landlords are finally returning my calls from last week. (Really--who takes that long to return a phone call? How unprofessional can you get?!?) So I answer the phone. It was like a choir of angels singing. I got the apartment I wanted! Woooo!

Let's recap:
- I'm starting to figure out my job and am enjoying it thus far
- I have more free time because I don't have to worry about desk drama anymore
- and I found a semi-spacious one-bedroom apartment that i can make my own and it's ALL MINE
- I graduate in three weeks and (knock on wood) no snaffus will hinder this process (except for maybe not having announcements since they haven't come in yet--rawr.)

To celebrate all of this (and--ok--because I had an appointment) I indulged in a pedicure. It's fuckin' purty. Deep pink polish. Hells yeah. And my feet don't look all disfigured from hard skin anymore either! It's a miracle. And the woman who gave me the pedicure was so fun. I adore her. Mainly because she seems to have this intuition about me, even though we'd never met each other before.

Rockin' pedicure lady: this is an awesome color. Would you like any details done? Little flowers or stripes maybe?
Me: you could do that?
Rockin' goddess lady: of course!
Me: WHEEE!
*then about three minutes later*
Rocking pedicure goddess: the stripes look great! Now...would you like glitter?
Me: WHEEEEEEE!

I am so dazzled by my toes now. You can bet I'm wearing my open-toe shoes EVERYWHERE this weekend. And I'll shove my toes at everyone because I'm so excited about this pedicure. Be warned.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design