How I Spent My Disney Vacation--a Picture Essay [ May 24, 2005, 11:18 pm ]

If I was in love with Disney and all things that Disney encompasses before I went to Florida, it has turned into a more-than-mild obsession since being in Disney World.

My trip fucking rocked. I loved nearly every minute of it.

And I'm not going to do a run-down of everything that we did because that's cliche' and boring and frankly, I can't remember everything that we did because my brain fried due to the sun. Instead I'll share pictures. Lots and lots of pictures, because those are always the best way to tell about a trip.

First, to see the PhotoPass pix that were taken at the parks, go here. It's a slideshow that pretty much shows our time at Disney World. (If you feel like ordering any of those fine quasi-professional pictures for me, feel free--they're hella expensive and I want prints of, like, 75% of them. Thanks, Disney, for being so freakin' overpriced.) Some things to watch for in the pictures: my mom's squiggy face in every Epcot picture--she looks like she's confused as to where she is and who she's with. Also watch for my sunburn in the final MGM pictures of Katy and me. I didn't wear sunblock my last day because I wanted some sun. Oooh, I got sun. You'll see when you see the pictures.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

I'll admit it: I cried when I saw Cinderella's Castle. It's the first thing you see when you get into the Magic Kingdom. And it's one of my favorite things about the trip. It was gorgeous.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

I also cried during the fireworks the first night. Because I am a dork. And a child at heart. And because the fireworks presentation was about wishes and all I could think was "my wishes are coming true!" Cue the waterworks.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Buzz is the first character we met in Disney World. We were all dorking out--as we did for most of the trip. Yes, we realize they're not real, but we didn't care. We were meeting Buzz! And Pooh! And Mickey and all the others! My family is the biggest bunch of dorks ever.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Katy on the spinning teacups.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Me on the Spinning Teacups. I adored this ride because it was one of the few Mom could ride--she also rode on the Jungle Cruise, Stitch's Great Escape, Pirates of the Carribean and Aladdin's Magic Carpet. But this was the best because it was the first ride we all rode together. Plus Katy and I ROCKED the teacup. I don't think they ever spun so fast.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

There was an entire store devoted to Stitch products. I'll repeat that: Stitch. Products. Only. My credit card was so screwed. Do you SEE the wall of Stitches behind us?

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

We did a character breakfast Tuesday morning with characters from Winnie the Pooh, Alice in Wonderland and Mary Poppins. I didn't realize how much I adored Mary Poppins until I walked up to her and almost started bawling as I said "I loo-oo-oooove youuuuu; you're myyyy fa-a-aaavoriiiite." At the same time my voice was squeaking and cracking. I leave such good impressions.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Tuesday was Animal Kingdom day. Katy adored it; Mom liked it; I liked elements of it. The Tree of Life rocked, the Festival of the Lion King was the greatest show in Disney World.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

The Fam waiting for the "It's tough to be a bug" show inside the Tree of Life. It's a 3-D show, in case you couldn't tell.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Katy's entire mission while at Disney World was to meet Mr. Incredible. Obviously...we did. I enjoy the look of euphoria on her face.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

To cap off our last night, we went to a luau. The food was amazing, the entertainment...mmmm--even more so.

And now I present...my two favorite pictures from the trip.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

We waited in line for literally 45 minutes to meet Mickey and Minnie. It was worth it, though, to see how excited my mom was to hug Mickey.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

The only word I can think of for this is...squeeee! That and the fact that before this was taken, we were walking to get to the Lion King show. When I saw that Stitch was standing under a tree though, I let out a scream/battle cry that frightened every mother in line to meet Lilo and Stitch. I got funny looks when I lept into line. Like I cared.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design