Random Memory #9732 [ July 02, 2006, 5:17 pm ]

Boom! Boom! Acka-lacka-lacka-boom!
Boom! Boom! Acka-lacka-boom-boom!

I stared at the screen as the words lit up. Laurie nudged me as she sang along with the absurd lyrics. I thought I knew 80s songs; I was wrong. This was going to be one hell of a karaoke experience.

Less than an hour earlier, my friends and I had been crowded around The Binder. The Binder held all things that were good in this world--namely any karaoke song that we could ever think of singing at our precious karaoke bar. Though there were at least half a dozen people perusing the selections, we all knew that only Laurie and I would actually sing. The rest were there to be entertained. And to get cheap beer.

We leafed through the pages looking for new songs to sing. Suddenly Trevor and Hoang started laughing. "HOANG! It's your song! You totally need to sing this, dude!" Trevor slapped Hoang on the back.

"No way, dude. I don't karaoke."

"You gotta. You gotta do your dance."

Laurie looked at the song."THE DINOSAUR!!! WE! ARE! SINGING IT!" I couldn't place how I knew the title; my face contorted into a confused look. Laurie burst into the chorus. "You know? Open the door get on the floor? Everybody walk the Dinosaur!" She did a dino-like move.

"Oooh yeah! Sure, let's sing it!"

"HELL YEAH!" Trevor was ecstatic. "Hoang! You gotta do your moves! Krissy and Laurie'll sing. You don't have to do anything but your sweet dance moves."

When our names were called, we stepped on the stage. The first words came on the screen. I just stared at them, dumb-founded. I had no idea what the hell this song was. Laurie nudged me as she sang along with the absurd lyrics.

I picked up my microphone and began to sing the first verse, although I had no idea how the tune went. I hope I don't sound too off-key I thought as I hit the wrong note in the second line.

My fears were forgotten half a second later as I saw Trevor nudging Hoang towards the stage. Though he seemed reluctant to show off his moves, he enthusiastically jumped on the stage when he heard Laurie and I sing "open the door/get on the floor/everybody walk the dinosaur."

And walk the dinosaur he did. He pranced across the stage with his best mechanical T-rex moves. The first time I saw his arms move in a slashy-special way I stopped singing and started laughing. Laurie stopped singing, as well.

As the background music played we just watched Hoang the Mechanical Dino dance. The ten other people in the bar stopped talking. And stared. And burst into applause. A couple of girls squealed their adoration at Hoang's jerky, random Dino moves. Trevor pumped his fist in the air.

Hoang was a rockstar. We were his back-up. Back-ups who missed half their words due to stomach-cramping laughter.

It was one hell of a karaoke experience. I still don't know the words to the classic Was (Not Was) song. But everytime it comes on the radio, I try to sing the chorus and then double over in laughter while I think of Hoang's special version of the Dinosaur.

The Dinosaur and The Singers

Close-up, to see the hilarity of it all.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design