December Delights [ December 01, 2010, 11:23 pm ]

Today marks the first day of the last month of 2010. Hurray! It's December! One of my favorite months of the year! Here are some of the reasons I love this month:

- the holiday season--I love Christmas!
- shopping for presents. I freakin' LOVE buying stuff for the people I love!
- going home for the holidays. It's not Christmas if I don't get to nosh on my mom's turkey and gravy!
- reuniting with friends. Emily and I have a sacred Christmas Eve Eve tradition of staying up late, watching bad movies and exchanging presents. It's happened every year...with the exception of last year when I was on-duty for my job and couldn't come home. But it's being revived this year! Huzzah!
- twinkly lights! Love them! Looooove them! They make the world glitter and that makes me supremely happy.
- snow. This is the only time of year I like snow. And even during this month I'll complain.
- winter accessories. Cute hats? Fun scarves? Heely boots?!? Yes, please!
- cuddling. All in the excuse of staying warm.
- Christmas trees. Whether it's the three-foot purple decorations adorned one in my apartment or the huge eight-foot monster in the dining hall, I love all Christmas trees. They make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.
- all of the yummy food. Even if it's stuff I eat all year round, it tastes even better this time of year.
- vacation. My campus is giving students four weeks of vacation this year in between semesters. This equals at least two good weeks of happy no-work time for me. Squeeee!
- presents. I just love getting them, especially if it's a thoughtful gift from someone I love.
- all of the cheesy holiday specials and movies on television. It's a good excuse to curl up with a cup of cocoa and a loved one.
- peppermint mochas from Starbucks. I really can only drink them around the holidays because they taste like Christmas to me.
- the feeling like anything is possible. The crisp air coupled with twinkling lights and glittering snow is magical to me, like anything I wished could come true. It feels like love glosses over everyone and everything good can happen. I love this time of year!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design