Just One Moment on the Dance Floor [ July 09, 2006, 12:48 am ]

The vows were shared, the cake was cut and the couple's first dance as a married pair had taken place. The floor was open to couples and a slow song floated through the air. Jonathan, an old college friend, dragged me to the floor. As we danced, the topic of marriage came up. He's months away from marrying the love of his life, while I...am not so much at that point.

I rolled my eyes. "First I have to find someone who'll, you know--ask."

Jonathan laughed. "Well you know--you have ME as a boyfriend."

"Too bad that'll have to stop once you marry Shelly in September."

He laughed again. "Yes, our torrid affair will have to end." I giggled. I love this boy to death. Our ongoing joke since college is that we're an exclusive royal couple who'll someday rule the entire Upper Peninsula.

He spun me out then pulled me closer and smiled at me. "Krissy. Don't ever change. Ever! You're great just as you are."

I smiled, completely flattered, but slightly confused. "Thanks. Why do you say that?"

"I'm just saying. Don't EVER change for a guy. Ever. I've seen too many people change into something that they're not just because of somebody else, because they think that they need to or have to. And they don't. And it would make me really sad if you did that. So...don't. Please."

"I promise. I'll be me. Forever."

He hugged me, clearly relieved. "Good! If I ever see you and you're not loud or loving karaoke or being fabulous then I'll shoot the guy who's with you because I'll know that he made you change."

I laughed as we continued to dance. "I don't think I'll ever stop being loud." The song slowed to an end. As it did I thought of me. Me getting consumed with crushing or wanting to crush or being crushed. Me losing touch with who I am for a second because of a boy or an encounter or a kiss. But thanks to a dance with an old friend, I have a souvenir to remind me of what I am: the girl with the loud voice and cute outfit dancing and laughing obnoxiously. And that's what I'll always be.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design