Sweeter than Snow Caps [ March 14, 2006, 11:40 pm ]

Chick flicks are the best.

Fifteen minutes after the credits have gone up and I've returned home, I still have a small smirk on my face. Failure to Launch gets the Krissy seal of approval. Likeable characters? Check. Eye candy? Oh yes. (Gratuitous Matthew McConaughey shirtlessness? Yes yes YES! Plus there's a scene where he's tied up. Did the scriptwriters somehow infiltrate my dreams?) Silly, yet slightly believable plot? Yup. Moments that make me giggle? Check.

I enjoy chick flicks. I'm not afraid to admit it. Some girls I know don't like to say that they like them even though I know they have at least three different Kate Hudson/Sandra Bullock/Meg Ryan/Julia Roberts DVDs in their collections. Why is it a taboo for girls to admit that they like movies that are fun?

I,for one, like the slight generic-ness about them all. Cute girl, cute boy, they fall for each other, there's a little twist (because there has to be some sort of unique-ness to each one), they have a fight, there's a montage with a sappy song where they're both apart and sad and then somehow they get back together. There's some sort of comfort in knowing that there'll be a happy ending. It's like macaroni and cheese for the heart. At least for me.

Maybe that makes me a little shallow. Maybe it makes me a bit of a sheep--I'm a girl who likes movies that are aimed at my gender and age demographic. I don't care. Life is complicated and while I enjoy a well-written script or Oscar-winning performance most days, sometimes all I need to be happy is Hugh Grant acting like a bumbling romantic.

I make no apologies. Now shush so I can click on Serendipity for the thousand and first time.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design