Bliss [ April 19, 2008, 2:44 pm ]

I had a night the other night that I wanted to capture, bottle up and relive over and over and over again.

It was just...perfect. Everything about it was almost magical.

It wasn't anything special. It was really simple. It started with me and a friend editing a project for a class. But we had good conversation and got a lot accomplished in a short amount of time which made us feel very happy and accomplished.

I then met up with some friends to celebrate a birthday. What started as three people cheers-ing in an Irish-like pub ended with half of my class cheering "it's your birthday" to the man of the hour while laughing until our stomachs hurt. There was good food, good conversation and so many funny moments that my tummy still hurts from the giggling so much. Just being there with so many of the people I cared about was incredible. We rarely see each other outside of class because we're so consumed with projects and assistantships and life. To take the time to truly talk and find out how we're all doing and to destress and not worry about projects or assistantships or life was an amazing gift that I'm beyond thankful for.

My night ended at The Boy's house where we cuddled and played video games. While it wasn't the most romantic thing ever, it makes me smile to think of it because it was so us and so simple and it made me so happy to hear him going "don't walk into the firey pit this time, honey." It was even more magical to wake up to him enveloped around me. Mmm.

Life is so chaotic that I forget that sometimes I need to laugh with friends or spoon with my boyfriend in order to remember who I am and what makes me happy. My life is rushing by right now. I want a pause button so I can enjoy it instead of stressing. But maybe that's why moments like Thursday night happen. So I can remember who I am and why I'm alive. So I can laugh and enjoy the company of those I love and be held by the one I love. Maybe those moments are better than any pause button could ever aspire to be. Life isn't perfect. It's rushed and chaotic and stressful. But sometimes you're given the gift of a perfect night and that's all you can really hope for.

Ciao, dahling!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design