Drip drip drop... [ August 03, 2006, 3:21 pm ]

The good thing about Michigan weather is that even when one walks outside and immediately feel like they've entered the seventh circle of hell, one can count on the weather soon changing. And by "soon" I could mean a few days, which is how long the heat index climbed to over one hundred degrees in Le Lansing. One! Hundred! Degrees!

As I mentioned, though, people can always count on the weather soon changing. Last night my apartment building shook with thunder and the sky opened up to flood the dusty ground with much-needed rain. (The only other good thing about Michigan weather is that when it's so hot I lose my appetite all together and thus gain slightly more defined cheekbones. Awesome.)

The rain has continued on today, which makes for a happy me. The clouds are hanging low, an occasional crack of thunder can be heard and every so often I spy the puddles being pounded with harsh rain. While I adore this, it's absolute torture to sit at my desk whilst watching the puddles expand. I want lazy. I long to be curled up under a blanket reading a good essay while sipping on Lady Gray tea. (Bonus points if there's candles lit and/or Gershwin is playing.) I'm on my lunch right now, so I'll only have a couple of hours left when I return to the office. Until then I'll gaze out the window and plot my evening out. There's laundry to do, a bedroom floor to be excavated and a camera hotline to be called (because, uh, my beloved Nikon decided to start acting up while I was camping). None of that stuff is likely to happen though because my favorite pink blanket and a brand new book are calling my name. And I'm ok with that. Because it's ok to be a bit lazy on rainy days.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design