Absolutely Deliberately Deficient [ November 15, 2006, 11:56 pm ]

How I ever got anything accomplished in high school or college is completely beyond me.

I've just started working on a project. The Project. (If you know me you'll know what I'm talking about. If you don't then you're just SOL. I'm going to be vague about this. Because I'm superstitious. And because this is something sacred to me.) Like, I've just started working on it, although I've been talking about it for a good couple of months. I just realized that deadlines are fast approaching and although I work better under pressure it'd be fabulous to be done far before the deadline so then I won't be stressed.

At any rate, tonight was Night #1 of The Project. I chose Starbucks as my venue of choice to begin it because I knew if I tried doing it in my apartment shiny objects and the television would distract me. Starbucks is perfect! It's just chaotic enough so it doesn't have the somber library ambience and it serves caffeine. Perfect.

Or not. As soon as I buckled down to start, my self-diagnosed ADD kicked in. Everything was interesting! My latte' cup was fascinating! That boy over there! So cute! And that other one! Such nice eyes! And look at my shiny cell phone! Maybe someone has texted me--let's look! And this blue pen! It will not do! Must. Get. Another! These questions I have to answer! So dumb right now! That boy is far more interesting! And why oh WHY is my writing so damn sloppy? Is it indicative of my feelings? We should analyze that right away! And this John Mayer song? So amazing! Let's just stop and listen to it instead of working! Brilliant!

How I actually handed anything in on time in college is totally beyond me. My mind does that when I can't focus. I think I need someone to just stand behind me and force a pistol to my head in order for me to accomplish anything at times.

There are also other things that are highly necessary in my life right now. These things include getting The Project done ASAP, a long, deep massage, that pistol-toting friend I mentioned above and maybe a good glass of wine (or a great make-out session) to take the edge off. Right now I'll just settle for being able to focus, though. Because without focus there shall be no progress. And progress is so very necessary in my life right now.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design