Five Levels of Friendship [ March 25, 2006, 12:10 pm ]

There comes a point in everyone's life where they begin to think about the people they've met and the friends they've made. This is mine. And upon reflection and re-evaluation I discovered something. In my world, there are levels of friendship. How a friend treats me and how well he or she knows me is (at least at times) in direct correlation to the level that they're on. I'm not in second-grade--I don't rank people or have a running tally of who's where. But there are levels. In Krissy-verse, this has just happened naturally (as I suspect it does with most people...if they took the time to think about it) and I've just recently realized it.

Without further ado, I present:

The Five Levels of Friendship

I. Aquaintance

I at least know your name and we've had a few moments to talk and establish some common ground. We usually have a friend or a class or a favorite thing (or bar) in common.

II. Party partner

I may or may not have met you at the bar. We recognize each other, greet each other with much gusto and have done one if not many shots together. You've invited me out with you; we're friends on facebook or MySpace.

III. Friend

We have some common ground and have known each other for more than a couple of days, weeks or months. We've had an experience that doesn't involve a bar, a shot glass or a story that starts "remember that one night we were soooo wasted..." You know more about me than my name, shot of choice and plans for the weekend.

IV. Good friend

We talk on a regular basis; we have each other's phone numbers, IM names and maybe even a cute nickname. Traditions like movie nights or karaoke nights have been established. You call just to say hi or say that you were thinking of me and I reciprocate. You know there's more sides to me than drunk, dorky and happy. You call my bluff and can tell when there's something on my mind. You've seen me cry.

V. Best friend

You know who I am and not only loves me for it, but can relate all too well. You've made me cry, but not in a bad way. You know exactly what to say or do without opening your mouth. Our time together consists of us sitting there doing nothing and we still consider it among the greatest moments of our lives.

I appreciate and love everyone that I'm friends or acquaintences with. But after the last couple of days, I have a new appreciation for those on the higher levels.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design