27 [ July 28, 2009, 9:36 pm ]

Today I celebrate my 27th birthday.

Part of me feels really old saying that I'm 27--I'm no longer in my mid-20s. Instead I'm on the later end of the decade, watching 30 linger in the not-so-distant future. And a month ago that fact freaked me out. But now I'm not so scared because with this birthday comes a stronger sense of not only who I am, but where I've been and where I'm going.

Not to say that I hold my key to happiness and success, but I have a stronger, firmer, richer idea of how to achieve what I want simply because I've been through so much and I've survived. Hell, more than that I've thrived. Despite some shoddy conditions and some negative people and misplacing my trust and love in some, I've come out of the challenges a better version of Krissy.

At 1:12 am on July 28, 1982 I came into this world via a C-section after getting stuck in my mother's birth canal. I was a dramatic diva from the moment I was born. But since then I've been reborn and recreated more times than I can count. And that's what I love about my life--that I have the ability to redefine who I am when I feel like I need to or when I feel that the time is right.

And the time feels so right, right now, right here in this moment. The final hours of my birthday linger in the air as I reflect on where I am, on the cusp of a new career, in a brand new state, discovering new things about my job and my school and me on practically an hourly basis. This year is going to kick my ass and redefine me in the best way possible. This will be the year where I love who I am, no matter what happens. And this is the year where I not only be good to myself, but I will let go of the fear and negativity that may keep me from living life to the fullest.

And more than anything, this is the year that I will fall in love. Not only with life and my job and any and all moments that come my way, but with kindred spirits and those who prove that they deserve my love. More than that, though, I have a feeling that I will fall in love with someone incredible. This is the year where I fall in love with me.

My 27th year is going to leave me spinning, grinning, unable to catch my breath. I cannot wait.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design