25 Things: The Non-Facebook/Better Edition [ February 03, 2009, 2:36 am ]

I did one of these on Facebook, but I wanted to do another because a.) I was tagged a billion times, b.) I wanted to dig deeper, and c.) I'm that vain. So here are 25 things you probably didn't know about me.

1. I travel with a Stitch figure. It�s like my good luck charm. I�m convinced that if I don�t travel with it something bad will happen so it goes with me on road trips, overnight trips, plane trips�everywhere.

2. I miss working retail. The 9 months I spent at Target were some of the best times of my life. Looking back on my time there (and at K-Mart) feels almost magical. There was just something about working part-time and connecting with people who were in the same place as me while discovering inside jokes and bitching about mean customers. It was awesome and carefree.

3. Washing dishes has to be my least favorite chore. I hate it�I think it�s because I worked as a busser and dishwasher for three years in high school.

4. I used to be great at saving money, but now I worry about finances on a regular basis. Especially with a job search coming up and the future being so uncertain.

5. I log onto Facebook at least 12 times a day. No joke.

6. I feel more comfortable admitting things on my blog than I do to people in real life sometimes.

7. I am ridiculously attached to my nose ring. The day I have to get rid of it will be a day of mourning for me because it represents a time in my life where I seized the day and did something completely out of character and grew in the process. It�s a souvenir of my time in Res-Life at NMU and a reminder of how far I�ve come since setting foot on that campus.

8. I have a paralyzing fear of failure. I have a chip on my shoulder and I feel I need to prove myself to everyone�especially people back home.

9. I look back on the year after I graduated from NMU as one of the best in my life even though I was only employed part-time and constantly worried about making rent. I had so many good times and my bonds with some of my closest friends grew stronger because of that year. I wouldn�t give that year up for anything and I�m so glad that things worked out as they did.

10. Almost every song from the 90s and early 2000s reminds me of my best friend Emily. We spent so much time together and have so many inside jokes that it�s impossible for me to turn on the radio without hearing a song that makes me think of her.

11. When I was 5 I accidentally ate the pit of a plum. My mom and her friend told me a plum tree was going to grow in my stomach. They had me going for a good twenty minutes and only told me they were joking when I began bawling uncontrollably. This is a lesson in how NOT to parent.

12. I completely love working with undergraduate students and I get really excited when I talk to them about my job and the opportunities they can have to influence people positively through Res-Life. I love connecting with people and helping them out. I get butterflies in my stomach when I know I�m doing a good job and I talk even faster than normal. This is how I know that I�m going into the right field.

13. I�m a needy girlfriend. I need to be told that I�m needed, wanted and loved. And though I know I�m cute/awesome/gorgeous I need that reassurance from my significant other. I�m what you might call a �high-maintenance girlfriend.� But it�s a small price to pay to be with me.

14. I love heels and I can�t stand wearing flat shoes. When I do I feel short. The only time I�m in them is when I�m running short errands or doing rounds through halls.

15. I could eat cold cereal for every meal. When I have it in my apartment I bust through a box in under three days.

16. One of my secret, strongest desires is to receive a love letter. Just one. It doesn�t even matter what it says as long as it�s from the heart.

17. I wish on everything: stars, coins in fountains, every candle I blow out, matching digits on clocks�but I�ve stopped wishing for the one thing that I�ve wished for since I was a child. I can�t decide if this is tragic or just growth and acceptance.

18. The only video games I�m good at are fighting games and that�s only because I just push a bunch of random buttons and scream at the screen while playing.

19. I didn�t want to be a princess when I was little�I wanted to be a Ghostbuster.

20. I worry that my sister hates me because of how much we fought and how horribly we treated each other growing up.

21. I have a fear that when I mess up people are inwardly groaning and thinking that �Krissy�s just fucked up again� and that I�m really just viewed as a fuck-up no matter what I do or how much I succeed. Happily I�m learning this is not the truth; people are kind and understanding and patient.

22. I love making lists, but unless it�s a life goals list of some kind I probably won�t look at it more than twice�unless I�m blogging or journaling about it in order to understand myself.

23. My favorite nickname is KP. It makes me feel happy and loved because only my closest friends call me that.

24. I have unnatural attachments to the ruby ring on my right hand (my mom gave it to me) and the purple wool blanket I bought in Scotland. You couldn�t get me to sell either of these things for any amount of money.

25. I am absolutely convinced that everything happens for a reason and that every event and every person is connected in some way.

Bonus facts! Wooot!

26. Although I consider myself fashionable, my favorite items of clothing are my green NMU hockey hoodie, magenta sweats and beat-up Everclear concert t-shirt.

27. One of my secret goals in life is to learn how to fence. I�ve wanted to learn how since I was ten years old.

28. I also want to work for Disney in any way, shape or form but I�m afraid of giving up everything I have in order to pursue that dream.

29. Supervising a staff has been singularly the most terrifying and rewarding experience of my life. The amount of pleasure and pride I get from watching them grow is amazing.

30. Just like guys think about sex multiple times an hour�I think about my hair that much.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design