101 in 1001 [ December 02, 2005, 11:24 am ]

The Mission: Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria: Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on my part).

A few things: It originally started here. It's been circulating ever since. I've been challenged by Melissa and we all know I can't turn down a challenge. Goals that are accomplished shall be bolded and dated. I now challenge all of you to do the same thing.

Start date: December 1, 2005
End date: August 28, 2008


My 101 in 1001:

Professional Me:
� study for the GRE
� take the GRE
� apply for grad school
� start on career path


Me-Improvement:
� learn to knit
� learn to play the guitar
� start to learn a new language
� learn to drive manual transmission
� ask someone out
� go to a movie by myself
� learn to cook a pot roast, leg of lamb and prime rib
� give up drinking for three months
� give up meat for a week�or at least three days
� go three days without the internet on purpose
� stop swearing for a week
� go one full day without complaining once


Adventurous Me:
� move out of the UP
� return to England
� go to gay days at Cedar Point with Joe
� go to Canada
� return to Disney World
� travel to Vegas
� go on a vacation by myself
� travel by train


Me and My Friends and Family:
� go on a cruise with my mom
� get a tattoo with my sister
� vacation in a warm or exotic area with some of my closest friends
� send out holiday cards to the people I care about
� figure out how to make my mom�s amazing spaghetti sauce
� cook a four-course meal for my closest friends and family
� reunite with Miss Allen to perform the greatest rendition of �Holding Out for a Hero� ever


The World Around Me:
� watch more CNN
� donate to St. Jude�s Children�s Hospital
� write to my government representatives
� compliment at least one person every day for a month
� volunteer for something I believe in


Healthy Me:
� get down to a healthy weight
� attain muscular arms ala Madonna
� become un-addicted to caffeine for three months
� start taking a multivitamin
� develop a work-out routine that I stick to for eight straight weeks at least
� fast for a day
� drink 8 glasses of water a day for at least two weeks straight
� run a mile without stopping, pausing or gasping for breath


Adult Me:
� pay off my credit card bills
� get a pet other than a fish
� attend my high school reunion
� build a classic yet semi-funky wardrobe that will be suitable for both work and play
� find that quintessential little black dress
� build an emergency fund of at least $2,500
� backup my hard-drive
� stop using the word �like� (as in, the Valley Girl talk)


Artistic Me:
� read and work through The Artist�s Way
� read at least three Jane Austin books
� write at least one essay a week for two months straight
� submit at least one of my essays to at least one magazine
� decorate my apartment with some of my best photos from my London/Paris trip
� visit every art gallery in Marquette
� read at least one non-fiction book a month for a year
� attend an opera
� learn to take better pictures
� scrap one layout a day for two weeks straight�if not more

Entertain Me:
� see Rent on stage�again
� watch at least three Audrey Hepburn movies
� see John Mayer in concert again
� host a fondue party
� compile a list of fifty favorite movies and fifty favorite CDs
� watch every episode of Seinfeld and Friends
� see Dane Cook perform live
� purchase at least six CDs I wouldn�t normally buy (ie: rap, country, classical, big
band�)
� watch three documentaries, three independent movies and fifty movies from the IMDB movie list
� read Live From New York: An Uncensored History of Saturday Night Live
� own all six season of Sex and the City
� see a movie in the theater five times (the most I�ve ever seen one in the theater is four with Titanic)
� learn to play Dance Dance Revolution well
� add Bride and Prejudice and two other musicals to my DVD collection

Material Me:
� own a shirt that has the word �dork� on it
� purchase one spectacularly expensive purse (like a Chanel or Kate Spade)
� purchase a new digital camera
� purchase my own diamond ring
� own a �boys are stupid� shirt
� purchase an iPod or iPod mini
� find and purchase a fantastic pair of candle sticks
� own the RENT bible

For Fun:
� learn to do a strip tease
� bowl while drunk
� learn to make cheesecake, death by chocolate cake and oatmeal raisin cookies
� have my tarot cards read
� learn to grill properly
� spend a day at the spa
� kiss in the rain
� do something special for my 25th birthday
� keep a plant alive
� build a gingerbread house
� play laser-tag and/or paintball
� bid and win an eBay auction
� cook all my meals for a week (no restaurants or fast food)
� send out a message in a bottle
� write a fan letter and mail/email it
� throw a non-birthday party for me and all of my friends
� ride in a limo


last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design