In the year 2000...and 5 [ December 29, 2005, 11:42 am ]

1. What did you do in 2005 that you'd never done before?
- graduated from college!
- went to a foreign country...actually 2!
- got my first "adult" job!
- quit my first "adult" job!
- realized how important happiness was to me
- kissed a stranger!
- went to Disney World! (And consequently became more obsessed with Disney.)
- became a bridesmaid!
- got into a semi-serious (in my mind, at least) relationship!
- drove in Detroit!

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don't have resolutions, I have goals attain--rolling resolutions. I did achieve a lot of my goals, but not all of them.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
I did! I gave birth to a bouncing, beautiful new me.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, thankfully.

5. What countries did you visit?
England!!! France!!!

6. What would you like to have in 2006 that you lacked in 2005?
A fulfilling job, an address outside the UP.

7. What date from 2005 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
March 4, 2005 - I landed in England and fell in love.
May 7, 2005 - five years of hard work paid off as I marched across the NMU stage at graduation.
May 15 - 20, 2005 - I experienced infinite bliss at Disney World with my fabulous family. Bliss peaked as I was enveloped in a hug from Stitch.
July 30, 2005 - Christy and Nate got married; I was lucky enough to have a front-row seat to witness it. It was beautiful.
September 2005 - I was hired at S-Mart, the beginning of chaos, new friendships and fun.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Graduating from college was huge--if not for me, for my mom who was so proud I thought she would spontaneously combust. I'm most proud of actually having the courage to walk away from the "real world" job that made me sick and unhappy. I'm proud that I realized that life is too short to be unhappy and that life can be an adventure if I want it to be.

9. What was your biggest failure?
The whiner in me would say "not having a 'real job.'" But whatever's meant to happen will happen in due time, so I just need to breath and make it through this exercise in patience.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nothing big, thankfully.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Plane tickets to England and Florida.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My friends, for they don't realize how fabulous they are; my family, for we finally became less dysfunctional and had more fun; mine, for I'm finally maturing.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
I don't dwell on those things, so I really can't think of anyone.

14. Where did most of your money go?
For the first half of the year...into trips. For the second half of the year...rent, credit card bills, furniture--grown-up stuff.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
My trips, graduating, being me, everything!!!

16. What song(s) will always remind you of 2005?
"Oh my God" by the Kaiser Chiefs
"She Said" by Brie Larson
"Holding out for a Hero" by Bonnie Tyler
Anything from Rent

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? a little happier, if not a bit jaded but still hopeful (is that possible? does that make sense?)
ii. thinner or fatter? like maybe two or three pounds thinner since I don't drink a lot anymore.
iii. richer or poorer? poorer, monetarily, but rich in what really counts.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
I wish I'd written more, taken more pictures and scrapped more.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Whined--getting over myself takes time.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
I spent it with my family. It was lovely and perfect.

22. Did you fall in love in 2005?
I fell in love with London. And anything Disney. And myself.

23. How many one-night stands?
None--but there were opportunities more than once to have a few with some beautiful guys. Yum.

24. What was your favorite TV program?
I got really hooked on Sex and the City and Lost.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
I don't hate anyone.

26. What was the best book you read?
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, He's Just Not That Into You (shut up, it was enlightening...and a fast read), the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
I adore Aqualung now. And I re-fell in love with Madonna after her Confessions disc came out.

28. What did you want and get?
Those before-mentioned trips. My happiness.

29. What did you want and not get?
A boyfriend...but I realized that sometimes it's better not to get what you want and I have much higher standards now, so you won't see me crying.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
RENT!!! I also really loved Crash, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The Chronicles of Narnia, Fever Pitch and Shopgirl.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
July 28--I turned 23. I'm almost in my mid-twenties!

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
My life is pretty good; I'm happy and satisfied. Besides--if I had everything I wanted then what would I have to look forward to?

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2005?
A little rockstar, a little girly, a little biz casual.

34. What kept you sane?
My friends, family and writing.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I really adored Nick and Jessica. I cried when I found out they were getting divorced. *sob*

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
I get riled over gay rights and women's rights.

37. Who do you miss the most?
I don't see my mom nearly enough. The same goes for Joe.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
I made a lot of new friends this year--they all deserve a "cheers!"

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2005.
Life is too short to be unhappy--be strong and follow your bliss, no matter what.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
"Oh my God
I can't believe
I've never been this far away from home..."
~ Kaiser Chiefs, "Oh my God"

"She said
Get out of my way
Cuz I'm going somewhere
This is not where I want to be
Get off of my back
Stop saying that
Cuz I'm not afraid of heights
I may never get where I'm going
But then again I might..."
~ Brie Larson, "She Said"

"Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten..."
~ Natasha Bedingfield, "Unwritten"


last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design