Valentine Schmalentine [ February 14, 2010, 3:46 pm ]

Valentine's Day. Blaaaah.

Those are my exact thoughts on today. And one of the first things I thought upon waking up far too early this morning. Once upon a time this day was a good thing, full of hopes for flowers or cute cards. I mean--it still is. Kind of. The hopeless romantic in me isn't totally dead. But I realized upon some reflection this morning that I still hurt. A lot. And I still have a good amount of healing to do. And only I can do that--I have to take a more active role in this whole journey thing. I can't just expect someone to make it all go away. Hmm.

It's hard to realize that you're your own frenemy when it comes to building a relationship with yourself. Ouch.

So what to do? Cry. Curl under a very comfy down comforter for a bit while thinking. Then take a deep breath, get up and make pancakes. Because if this girl is going further on her journey, she wants to have a full stomach.

Happy Valentines Day, friends. I love each of you for the gifts you've brought into my life.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design