Toss Up [ September 15, 2006, 11:52 pm ]

Toss toss!

There's this great scene in Wicked where Galinda the girly girl is attempting to teach Elphaba the bookworm how to be more feminine. The first step is teaching her how to toss her hair. Galinda takes a deep breath, centers herself and then swishes her long golden locks from side to side. Toss! Toss!

I've always been slightly obsessed with my hair. Mostly, the target of the obsession has been the color. I love having red hair, even if it comes from a box. Somewhere in my childhood it became ingrained in my mind that I was a redhead, even if my hair matched the color of mud. Once hair dye was discovered, my hair matched my mindset. Call it the Ariel syndrome.

Lately, though, the thing that's been making me ridiculously gleeful has been another hair factor: the length. A couple of weeks ago I felt a sensation that I couldn't quite shake. It was odd; likable, but odd. It lingered. It irked. And then I realized what it was. My hair! It touched my shoulders! I nearly wept for it was a feeling that I didn't know I missed until I felt it. It was something that I hadn't experienced in nearly four years.

I've always played with my hair. But since I'm in the process of growing it out into a longer-than-chin-length cut, I've become absorbed by it. I'll put it up. I'll take it down. And then I'll put it up again. Because I can! (Kind of.) And I toss it. And flip it. And toss it again. Because it's long enough to toss and flip! Glee!

Perhaps I have a little too much time on my hands. I probably shouldn't devote so many brain cells to contemplating the length of my hair. But it makes me feel good. And really, I have nothing better to do with my time. I mean, really. I work. And then I come home and hang out with the roomie and/or play with my hamster and/or talk on my phone and/or read. It's kind of ironic that I thought my life would be so much more exciting once I moved to an urban area. It's actually, uh...not. So until a fairy godmother grants me a grander social life, I'll talk about my hair. And toss it like so.

Toss! Toss!

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design