Torrential downpouring [ September 05, 2005, 11:46 pm ]

I'll admit it: I've been trying to avoid Hurrican Katrina. Or rather--the torrential abundance of news/pictures/reports about this tragedy. And that's why I've been avoiding it: because it is a national tragedy. I've heard some of the stories and seen some of the pictures. And my heart breaks. I can't imagine the devastation that thousands of people are feeling right now. They've lost everything; they're facing not only the natural disaster floods, but the floods of emotion that they have to face as they search for lost family and friends and begin to rebuild their lives.

My heart aches for them all.

And I feel like a shitty citizen because I feel like there's nothing I can do. Like everyone, I'll donate money, but I feel like it won't do anything.

And then I feel shitty because all I do is whine about not having a job. While it is a tragedy in my book, it's nothing compared to what the survivors have gone through. I'm fortunate enough to have shelter and protection and sustenance.

I'm grateful that I get reminders about life from time to time. Because sometimes it's the only way I can shut the fuck up and get perspective.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

PS: if you feel the urge to help in any way, visit the Go Fug... website. There's a comprehensive list of links that can point you in the right direction.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design