Through It All [ June 02, 2008, 11:11 am ]

Dark, smoky bars are the new Hallmark cards.

Wait. I should clarify that. Dark smoky bars after midnight produce moments that are better than Hallmark cards.

Twice in as many months I have had heart-to-heart conversations with my closest friends. These were not just average "I love you and you rock" conversations. Instead they were "I am grateful we're friends and you've done so much for me and I love you with all my heart and you mean the world to me" conversations.

I'm not talking about this because I want to give you an extra-special, extra-personal glimpse into the most treasured moments of my life. I tlak about them because these moments are so rare, so unexpected, so unassumably gritty and beautiful that they somehow need to be captured in some way because time has a way of stealing these very moments from memory. Even thinking about these occurrances makes me tear up a little.

I am so incredibly lucky. I have amazing people in my life, in my work-life, my friend-life, my family-life, my love-life. After being on this planet for a quarter of a decade one thing that I know for sure is that many people come and go. While many have made an impact on me, it is almost a given that they will slip through my life like quicksilver for various reasons. While this breaks my heart (I suck at goodbyes), it is a harsh reality. So when moments happen that take my breath away and remind me that there are a few amazing people who want to journey through life with me, it makes the time that much sweeter and it makes me that much more grateful for God's helping hand and unwavering friendship no matter what the circumstances. (Because it is so easy to give up on friends if they flake out or get caught up in life.)

So this is my tribute. This is to my friends who are still my friends, even if I only talk to them once a month or once a year. This is to the ones who don't let things get weird even if I have gotten caught up in relationships or school or whatever drama I'm twisted in at the moment. This is to the ones I can pick up the phone and dial at 2 a.m. or 2 p.m. and we have an amazing conversation that makes our bellies hurt from laughing so hard. This is for the few friends who have welcomed me into their life without question and who love me without judging or controlling or thinking that they know what is best for me. This is for the ones who love me as deeply as I love them.

I love you guys. You have impacted me more than you will ever know. Thank you for inviting me into your lives even though I am as imperfect as they come.

Ciao, dahling

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design