For the Blessings and the Lessons [ November 22, 2006, 8:36 pm ]

As I wandered the aisles of the home decor section at Kohls, I was attracted to all of the glittering objects displayed for the holiday season. Gift wrap! Presents! Decor! All out in full force because the holiday season is fully upon us, even before Thanksgiving has been given its day. Even at work the holiday decorations were dragged out early last week to keep up with the trend of holiday decorating.

I'm not complaining. I adore the holiday season. Everything appears prettier this time of year. Everyone seems a little nicer, a little more cheerful. Everything seems to have a hint of magic to me. I love Christmas. Probably more than any normal twenty-something should.

What I don't get is why it seemed to descend so early. It's now normal practice for retail chains to put out holiday decor alongside Halloween costumes. Store windows were decorated with faux snow and tinsel two days after kids shouted their final "trick or treat!" The holidays are a great time of the year. But not before Thanksgiving.

Is society in such a rush to greet Christmas that they completely forget to stop and ponder for five seconds how fortunate they are? It's entirely probable.

I however, won't forget. While I'm just as busy untangling lists and checking my lists twice, I'm also listing everything that I'm thankful for.

Life is amazing and just being able to experience everything from the simple (like checking my email or napping) to the amazing (relocating to an area nine hours from my family) is a great gift. So this year, instead of listing everything that I'm grateful for like everyone else on the planet does (and like I'm sure I'll do at some point tomorrow), I'm just going to shoot a heartfelt prayer up to God to thank him for everything that he's given me.

After tomorrow, I'm sure I'll forget to stop and smell the roses and thank the heavens for my daily bread as I rush to greet the holiday season with gusto. But at least for tomorrow I'll remember to be thankful. Not just because there's a holiday devoted to it but because there's so many reasons for all of us to be.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design