Cheese Can Be Sweet [ October 15, 2005, 8:57 am ]

Sweetest Day: started in the 1920s by a chocolate-carrier who brought flowers and sweets to those he thought needed a lift. (I learned that by perusing the card section of S-Mart last night after my shift.) The majority (me included!) think it is a day made up by greeting card companies to sell more cheesy cards and flowers in the middle of fall because they're not seeing any boost in sales. But I like cheese and flowers. And if I wasn't broke, I'd buy all of my friends flowers today because I love them oh-so-much. Instead they'll have to settle for this online ode they're about to receive. (To everyone else, I'm sorry that this isn't going to be the most interesting of entries, but I feel the need to let the ones I love know how much I care about them.)

Em: Simply put, you're amazing. And you don't even realize it. We could spend hours doing nothing together and I'd walk away with the biggest grin on my face. I love the fact that we've been best friends for twelve years. I wouldn't trade any of part of that for the world (and, yes, that includes hot guys and trips to far-off destinations).

Joe: Now you--you do know you're amazing. But I'm going to remind you of that again. You're my partner in crime when I'm feeling naughty and adventurous, my reminder to live life to its fullest and my Stitch. Life is never dull when I'm talking to you and I feel like I'm invincible after a conversation or a hug from you. You've helped me to realize who I am and what I can do. You're irreplacable, my dear.

Chrissy: If people only meet a few life-altering people throughout their journey, then you are one of mine. Not only are you a rock when I'm a neurotic mess, but you're my (free!!!) therapist, my cohort in silly adventures, a confidant when I'm down and an ego booster to boot. You may not know how much I appreciate all of your support, but I'm more grateful then you'll ever truly know, because you've helped me to find the real Krissy. Love you, friend!

Ryan: KO loves The Ry. And the fact that you've helped me to unlock new possibilites. I'm spoiled by the fact that you're an awesome travel partner--nobody else will compare to you, even though I'll spend the time comparing and complaining. Plus, you've helped me to realize that introspection is a wonderful thing, not something to run from. Where would my writing and me be without you?

Katia A (aka Wifey): If Ryan's helped me to become more introspective, then you've done your part to make me the most maniacal extrovert ever. If it wasn't for you, I wouldn't embrace the dorker side of me that everyone sees. And I wouldn't have a profound and undying love of karaoke, either. Plus, you've helped me to become more fabulous and girly. You're an ego boost and an ego trip and for that you have my love. (And a shared knickname!)

Katie D: You may not know this, but I think of you as the mother of our group--always cooking for us and worrying about our well-being. You're incredible--I just hope you realize that. My fondest memories from my senior year are partially due to you and your ideas--toga night, drunken hockey games, many drunken karaoke outings...I could go on and on. You're a wonderful friend and someone that I'd want fighting for and with me anytime.

Amanda: WWMD! This is for you, the only one who truly gets this concept, my fellow fierce deciple. (*wink*) I love that we can just be dorky and crazy and silly together. And I love that we're both Leos, but we still get along SO well. (It's amazing, really--we should be attempting to claw each others' eyes out!) Only you could encourage me to read more, drink more, love more and dork out more...and usually at the same time.

Christy: One of the greatest people that I met in VA and at NMU. Some of my craziest adventures were with you. Thanks for showing me how to let go and let loose. Thanks for getting me into trouble, for it helped me to become that much less of a neurotic girl. And thank you for allowing me to be a part of your beautiful once-in-a-lifetime day. I'm forever honored. And I'll forever love you.

Brett: This cheese-fest wouldn't be comeplete without a shout-out to you. I miss your snarky demeanor and your mischievous grin. I miss our constant dinners and your movie recommendations. I miss you! You're one of those people who really doesn't know what a good guy he is, so I'm letting you know that right now. I'm pulling for you--something good will come your way. I promise.

And thus ends the cheese-fest. To everyone not listed above, I'm sorry. If I tried to write everyone I knew and loved a soliloquy, I'd be here until Tuesday. Instead, I offer my love and wishes for a wonderful day. Mwah!

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

PS: I edited to add an ode to Christy. I suck as a friend--I can't believe I forgot her at first! Ack! I'm sorry hon!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design