It Stanks in Here [ August 16, 2005, 11:56 pm ]

I have this theory about scary movies. That if I'm going to take the time to see a "scary movie" it had better scare the shit out of me. Either I better walk out of the theater never wanting to go into dark spaces ever again or I better have had a good mind-fuck. Either way, it had better be worth my money and my time.

I realize that I contradict myself by saying this, but I am the biggest scaredy cat in the world. I almost always refuse to watch a scary movie because I scare easily. The last scary movie I saw was The Ring. (And after that movie I refused to answer my phone or watch videos for, like, two weeks.) Before that...I can't even remember. My point is that I don't like horror films.

Tonight, though, I decided to be a big girl and accompany Ryan and Katie to see The Skeleton Key. I'd heard it was more of a psychological thriller than a slash-slash-now-you're-dead movie, so I took a deep breath and decided to go.

In all reality, I was looking forward to being scared. I wanted to squeeze Ryan's arm and squeal in shock and jump when there was a plot twist.

Sadly, that didn't really happen. The movie itself wasn't bad. I jumped a couple of times. I figured out the "secret" about twenty minutes in, even though I was hoping I'd be wrong. The twist at the end, though, was good. If I sat down to really think it through, I'm sure I'd feel even more freaked out.

What deterred me from getting more into the movie was the gregarious group of girls that conveniently sat behind my friends and I. They were loud--which I can handle because my friends and I aren't exactly mute. They snuck in rancid-smelling beer, though. These girls couldn't even get into R-rated movies and they were drinking Ultra Cobra XX Uber-beer. Charming.

Ugh, my head still hurts from the stank of it.

This should be the part of the entry where I re-evaluate my movie behavior. How my friends and I like to dissect plot-lines (um, sometimes loudly) as they unravel like those girls were and how that's wrong. How we sometimes throw kernels of popcorn at each other and giggle like eight-year-olds and how that's immature like the girls were being. But that shall not happen tonight. No no. Because as naughty as my friends and I have been in the theater, we've tried to respect those around us. And we've never snuck in two-for-two-dollar fourty ouncers like they did.

Ok, so maybe I'll think twice the next time I'm at the movies and I want to whisper "girthy" or something equally dorky to my partner in crime. But only because I don't want people to leave with the same kind of headache that's plaguing me now. Humph.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design