Sparkle Motion [ April 05, 2008, 5:31 am ]

"I'm going to do that move the next time we're at the club." This was said rather excitedly by my friend as we watched men in colorful robes grab gorgeous girls in saris and fling them around the stage. The dance move proceeded and preceded by intricate moves executed perfectly by Indian men and women of MSU in the opening number of Satrang.

One thing I love about being at MSU is the culture. The campus is vibrant with groups and students who display their pride for their homelands, their culture, their history, their backgrounds that help to make each of them who they truly are. There are opportunities nearly daily for students to witness and participate in cultural activities whether it's a prayer circle, crafting night or an evening of choreographed dance, like Satrang.

I'm the first to admit that I know close to nothing about cultures other than that of the Yooper. (And that is an arguable culture, though there are specific trademarks and distinctions that come to mind when one mentions the U.P.) But I'm eager to see and learn more about other parts of the world. Many of my staff members hail from other countries and it is because of one of them that I found out about tonight's show. He talked excitedly about his dance and how he was going to choreograph it and get people involved. The excitement that flashed in his eyes and the energy he showed when he talked about it made me excited to experience the event.

I was not disappointed. Before the show even started I saw girls darting through the halls wearing colorful saris and scarves in every color. Men wore turbans, scarves and robes and chatted easily with one another, not letting on if they were nervous or not. All the costumes were gorgeous--richly colored, adorned with beads and sequins, dazzling in every way. It. Was. So! Pretty! (Sidenote: I totally want a sari. Please.)

Each dance was different and exciting in its own way, from the stick dance that opened the show to the classic dance that fused the North Indian dance style with the South Indian dance style to my staff member's dance where the men opted to wear Adidas track suits and adapt their choreography to a Timbaland song rather than traditional Indian music. And I adored each one.

I had no doubt that I would love this event. Come on! It's pretty people in pretty costumes doing choreography. It was like a living, breathing musical with a good helping of sequins glossed over it for good measure. From the second the first dance started my breath caught in my throat and I waivered between smiling until my cheeks hurt and tearing up because the dances were so beautiful. And because each of them danced with such joy and such grace. They were all gifted and sharing that joy and their gift with the audience. It was amazing.

I expected the pomp, the finesse, the dazzling factor. I didn't think I'd almost start bawling like a baby two minutes into the show. It was such a joyous occassion to see all of the talent and celebration. And it made me think about the gifts that I have. No, I'm not a dancer in a glittery costume. (Though I wish I was...) But I can write. And I can help people through the field I'm going into. And I can laugh. Oh lord, can I laugh. It is these gifts that I'll focus on sharing with the world. Tonight's event helped me to realize that life should be a celebration. I think too often I get caught up in the little things and I don't just enjoy and celebrate the moment. But I should because it is a gift; I should be happy for it. I'll keep this in mind from now on. And maybe I'll wear something sparkly just to help remind me of that.

Ciao, dahling!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design