Role Reversal [ March 21, 2006, 11:48 pm ]

Think of puppies and bunnies and Ghostbusters.

There were nights I just couldn't fall asleep when I was young. There were other nights when I'd wake up crying from a bad dream. Whenever that happened, mom would come rushing to my room, pull the covers up to my chin, kiss me on my cheek and talk softly to lull me into a dream-like state. "Everything is ok, sweetheart. I love you; I'm here for you. Sweet dreams. Think of puppies and bunnies and Ghostbusters." I'd giggle, scrunch my eyes up tight, comply with her request and be out before she clicked off the light.

Monday was a rough day for my family. There was an on-going tiff that finally came to a head that afternoon. The prelude to the afternoon left my mom nervous, scared and in a state of panic. She knew that she was the good guy in the situation and she knew she had God and her family and friends on her side, but it didn't stop her from almost retching at the thought of the problem. She just wanted it done and over with.

We sat in a row on a hard bench and waited for the judge to call our case. I sat next to mom, my sister on the other side. Mom clutched her file and tried to stop her hands from shaking. I rubbed her shoulder to try to calm her down. I hated seeing her like this. She's the rock; the one I turn to when I'm down. I'm not used to seeing a goddess falter.

I thought of what she used to do for me when I woke up from a bad dream. I grinned at the thought and leaned over to her. "It'll be ok, mom. Just think of puppies and bunnies and Ghostbusters. And if you need support, you know I'm right here behind you."

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design