Written by Hand [ August 21, 2005, 5:50 pm ]

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

"You should do it, Krissy." Katie and Ryan egged me on.

Why not? I thought. I'd always wanted to; why not today?

We got into line behind a group of Yoopers who clung to every word the woman said. She uttered softly and seriously to a woman while the couple behind her strained to hear her serious words. "Good God, people, she's a fortune teller, not a Christ," Katie muttered under her breath.

I could relate to the people in front of me, though. Maybe they were looking for solutions to major problems. Maybe they needed some sort of comfort, no matter how trivial of a source it came from. Even if it came from somebody whose job was to entertain, not dole out therapeutic advice.

The more the woman talked to the people in front of us, the more nervous I became. "What if she tells me I'm going to die soon? Or that I'll never find happiness? What is she says nothing but BAD THINGS?!?"

"Shut up, she has to say good things. It's her JOB." Ryan seemed adament. Katie and the other girls nodded. It did nothing to ease the nerves though.

By this time, I was next in line. When the couple finally left, I scooted into the chair. I placed my palm on the table; the woman looked at it, then looked me in the eye. "You have a very long life line. You'll live a very long time."

"Well, that's good." I laughed and looked at my friends who were also listening intently. The palm reader didn't seem impressed with my commentary. I shut up. She continued.

"You'll have a very lucky love life. You had some mishaps and misfires in the past, but that's behind you. Soon your love life will be great, though."

It sounded like a typical thing that she would say to anyone, but I wasn't about to comment, for fear that she would suddenly tell me I'd die alone and unhappy. I didn't want that, so I continued to shut up.

She studied my hand a little more and suddenly pronounced, "You'll have an excellent job opportunity soon. You'll be rich; very wealthy. And successful. You'll have a good job in the future."

My heart surged a bit. Katie hit me; Ryan gave a little gasp. I was giddy at this point. I couldn't help it--I had to say something. I giggled. "Could you tell me when this will occur? This fabulous new job news I mean? Because it'd be great to have some sort of idea--I'm so excited!"

The woman looked at me pointedly. "In the future. You'll be successful."

Well. Then.

She continued by saying that my loved ones will be healthy. And then reiterated that I'd be successful. She then waved me off. My time with the fortune teller was done.

It sounded like the typical palm reading to me. I knew that as I rose from the chair. Yet, a tiny part of me resurrected a glimmer of hope. While I won't cling to this prophecy like others cling to the Bible, I'll file this episode away in my mind and perhaps return to it if I'm feeling a little down and out. It'll serve as a souvenier; one that I can think of if I need a little more hope in my life or if I need to be reminded that things will get better. It has to, right? I mean--the palm reader said so.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design