Part of My World [ September 10, 2006, 7:09 pm ]

"Go on and kiss the girl..."

I did a little dance move as I sang along to the classic Little Mermaid song while dodging vegetable oil that flared up from the sizzling pan on my oven. As I sang I thought of my favorite childhood movie. I wanted to be Ariel growing up. I already had the angry father, why couldn't I just swim around and befriend fish while pining for a handsome prince?

Something occured to me as "Kiss the Girl" ran through my head. Ariel needs to get a kiss from her true love. While she is certain that Eric is her true love, how many of us can say that we've experienced a kiss of true love? I've kissed many a cute boy, but I know for certain that not one of them has been a kiss of true love. Some have been memorable, some have been so-so, some have sent shocks of lightening through my body, but none have truly made me think yes, this is a keeper, this is something real and true. True lust maybe, but not true love.

So maybe I wouldn't want to be Ariel. Because if I'd have signed that pact with the Sea Witch, I'd be doomed to be a wriggly thing in her garden for all of eternity. Instead I remain myself--a hopeful and optimistic girl who knows she'll someday get that kind of kiss. And maybe if I'm lucky it'll take place in a twilight grotto surrounded by twinkling fireflies.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design