A Taste of My Department [ March 25, 2011, 8:43 pm ]

Coworker: Oh, Krissy! Nobody wants to see YOU at 6:30 in the morning!

Rest of coworkers at meeting: *collective gasp then immediate headturns to see how I'd react*

Me: BWAHAHAHAHA!! It's funny because it's TRUE! I am not pretty that early in the morning!

I thought I was being nice by offering to take a candidate back to the airport at the unheard of hour of 6:30 am. This is me sucking it up and being a professional. Sacrificing sleep for the greater good of the department. Everyone knows I don't wake up until 9 am and rarely make it into my office before 10. Because I have a flexible schedule--it's what we can do in our chosen field. So to voluntarily offer to do this is a big. Deal. They all know this. Which is why the joke my friend made is hilarious. I love my department. In the wrong context I could have gotten easily offended. Instead I laughed until my stomach hurt because I know it comes from a place of love.

But still. I'll need to awaken extra-early so as not to scare off the candidate. This face isn't greeting the dawn without styled hair, mascara and lip gloss. And a whole lot of caffeine.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design