Not Just Kiddin' Around [ August 31, 2005, 1:35 am ]

It's always good to get into an online conversation with Ryan. Because it leads to very introspective things. Observe:

MoonKist 7282: Sometimes I think that the kid versions of ourselves would kick our asses if they knew what we were doing right now.
MoonKist 7282: Whatever happened to that sense of wonder? That I can do anything attitude? The sense that everything is possible and it can all happen TODAY? And it WILL!??
MoonKist 7282: We didn't procrastinate as kids. We did what we wanted when we wanted. We spoke our minds. We built forts and ran away and wrote the stories we wanted to hear.

I realize that it all sounds very The Kid-ish. But it's true.

What did you want to do when you were eight? Rocket into space? Pirouette across a stage in a glittering gown? Rescue kittens from raging fires? Rule the world as the best damn prince or princess ever?

My point is that the dreams that we have when we're kids are innocent. They're pure. The dreams we dreamed as kids were exactly what we wanted to do. Nobody ever said "I want to sell inkjet cartridges" or "I want to be a corporate brown-noser" when they were growing up.

I dreamed of ruling the world. And simultaneously swinging on swings all the livelong day. I was going to have adventures around the world and see everything and write great soliloquies and novels and live everywhere and have pet tigers and talking birds and harems of boys who fawned over me and fed me grapes. And I KNEW that I'd be happy and successful. I was a big dreamer.

And I'm not saying that these things still can't happen. Because they can...well, except for the whole pet tiger part maybe. It's at least worth taking a deeper glance at.

I don't think it's such a bad idea to revisit the ideas of our youth. Because we may have been onto something then. We knew who we were. And what we wanted. And we did it--right then. When we were kids, we grabbed life by the balls. Or I did at least...which was why I tried running away a good dozen times. (I never got past the packing part, though, because I could never decide which dolls and clothes to take with me. It was the most important part of running away, after all.)

From this point on, I'm going to return to little Krissy. I'll take on a "no day but today"-esque attitude and aim for my lofty goals of being a world-traveling, heart-breaking, cool-pet-owning, bestseller-writing, happy-as-can-be girl. Because I don't want my inner eight-year-old to kick my ass. I bruise easily.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design