View from the Front (Row) [ October 03, 2005, 11:59 pm ]

My head is pounding, my brain feels like it's swimming in a fishbowl, I can't hear correctly, my feet ache horribly and my back hasn't felt this sore in a long, long time. I should feel horrendous. Yet, I don't. I actually feel pretty damn good. (Except for the fact that I need/crave a massage like whoa.) It's all worth it. It was all worth it because I was front row, practically center for the Jason Mraz concert.

I knew it'd be advantageous to wait in line for an hour and a half before the doors opened.

And it so was.

I was up against the barricade the entire night, with the center of the stage in clear view. It doesn't get much better than that.

The concert was amazing. Like I said before, I'm in love with the Mr. A-Z cd. It's been playing practically non-stop since I got it. And he played a lot of the songs from it. Hell, he played (I think) nine of the eleven songs on it. And was I geeked that I knew the words to every one of them? Heck yes I was!

One of the highlights of the show came early on in the evening. Jason prefaced a song by saying that everyone needs to cuddle and that he didn't have anyone to cuddle with. I blurted out (rather loudly) "I'LL DO IT!" Then my sister screamed even louder than me "I'll cuddle with youuuuu!!!!" We were front row. He heard us. He looked at us. He gave us a look. It wasn't an impressed look. But it was awesome.

It's one way to get noticed, no?

About two songs into the show I was staring at the lead non-singer guitar player. I squinted. I stared. And I realized where I knew him from. "HE'S PLAYED WITH JOHN MAYERRRRRRRRR!!!" Katy looked at me like I was on crack. The huge group of people behind me looked at me like I was on crack. I thought I was rather impressive with my extensive knowledge of John Mayer back-up band members. I was right, too, because he was introduced later on in the show. And then he grinned at me as I was rocking out to "The Remedy." So maybe he heard my John Mayer comment, too. Or maybe he was just enraptured with my dork dancing hotness.

The best moment of the night came during the encore, though. I was slightly mopey because I hadn't heard "Sleeping to Dream" or "Plane", which are my two favorite Mraz songs. Everyone exited the stage like they were gonna be ending the show. But the lights didn't go up, so we all knew there'd be an encore. The crowd screamed for about three minutes before the keyboardist came back on stage. He sat down and started plunking some notes. I looked at Katy, screamed and started crying. Then the rest of the band and Jason came back on-stage. They all assumed their positions and Jason grabbed the mic stand. Instead of standing up like he'd done for the entire show, he sat down on a speaker that was maybe two feet from where I was standing. The piano plunking continued. A deep breath was taken; he closed his eyes. And he began to sing "Plane."

I sang along with him and attempted to not bawl like a baby. It didn't work, although I did manage to keep the tears to a decent minimum. Shivers shot up and down my entire body for five minutes straight as I stared at him singing, just barely out of my reach.

It may be one of the single greatest moments of the year for me.

The sore feet, aching back and pounding head are completely worth it. I'd do it again. And again. Who's up for a concert-bound road trip?

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design