Miss Un-America [ January 21, 2006, 8:07 pm ]

Christy: Could you record it for me? I don't know if you watch it or not, but I'm working and I wanted to see it.

Me: I would rather spear jagged discs through my eyes than watch it, but for you? I will.

The Miss America pagaent is on my television. Not by my choice. I'm not a big fan of pagaents. I think they objectify women and are pointless. There are plenty of other ways that girls can earn scholarship money and they don't include strutting on-stage in heels and a swimsuit. To me, it doesn't make any sense. You don't see men parading around in speedos for "scholarships."

Yet (and I really hate to admit this), part of me wishes that I was one of those girls. Perfect makeup. Perfect hair. Gorgeous faces. Killer bodies. Part of me is jealous. The shallow part me of wants to be that.

Plus, I was watching some behind-the-scenes thing about the pagaent and I want the crown. Not the actual crown (although we all know that I'm a fan of all things shiny), but the title and the job that goes along with it. I like the idea of travelling around the country, inspiring people and encouraging children to follow their dreams. I've always had this urge to inspire and motivate people and the fact that Miss America gets to do that makes me a little ill and a bit jealous at the same time. I. Want. That. Or something along those lines.

As I'm getting a bit ill and the green-eyed monster is abiding alongside me on my couch, I noticed something. Actually, a couple of things. That the smiles all look the same and seem a little generic. That the dresses are all only pretty if they're briefly glanced at. That the jewelry looks fake and attrociously gaudy. With all due respect to the burgeoning beauty queens, I have to say this: I don't want to be like you. Yes, it'd be great to have the body and know how to walk on four-inch stilletos. But I enjoy the fact that I have a quirky smile and hair that has the personality of a chaotic hurricane (on a good day). I may not have the backing of a multi-million dollar industry, but I know that I can and will inspire people some day. And I won't need heinous jewelry or a swimsuit competition to do it.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design