Not a Focker [ November 03, 2007, 8:26 pm ]

I met The Boy's family this weekend. His parents AND his sister (who was kind enough to invite me to her wedding).

Um...I like them. A lot.

His dad? Not nearly as smart ass-y as John says he is (but John does claim he is on "his very best behavior"). A little gruff, very opinionated, not the easiest man to converse with, but still--nice enough.

His mom? DUDE. A dead ringer for Dame Judi Dench. This woman is gorgeous. And incredibly kind. And she gives good hugs.

And his sister is great--funny, warm, kooky. Like a feminine version of John.

If I hadn't been doing wedding type things for the past twelve hours I could probably elaborate more. But I can't because my brain is mushy and everything I can comprehend has to do with floral arrangements and catering menus.

But I'm happy to report that I've Met The Parents and nothing of comedic proportions has occurred. Except that I nearly screamed "fuck" during the Michigan vs. State game (that we caught post-wedding) except I caught myself and ended up saying "FUUUUUUUUUUUUuuuuuuu...nny." So that was good. At least I'm on my best behavior. Because Meeting The Parents can be a harrowing thing. Especially in my world where obscenities are an every day occurance.

Ciao, dahling!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design